My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Just When I Thought It Couldn’t Get Any Worse

on July 19, 2012

WARNING:  there will be no cute pictures or inspirational sayings in this post. This post is a total rant from someone who is teetering on the edge!

If you have been following my blog, you know that almost daily I say how tired I am and how crazy work is.  Well, all this exhaustion and stress has taken its toll.  Here’s some back story that leads up to highlight of this post.

Since as long as I can remember, I have had this weird bump on my head.  It is soft and squishy and has just always been there. I lovingly call it my tumor.  When I first discovered it, it was quite tiny, like half of a pepper seed.  Over the years it grew a bit, to about the size of a half a small pea sitting on my head.  Probably over the last year or so, it started to get quite big and now feels like an almond just below my scalp.  It doesn’t bother me, it is just there.

Friday night of this past weekend, while we were at the cottage, my bump felt weird.  It felt like it had split open.  Saturday morning I took a look at it and yes, it was split just a bit and it was oozing stuff.  Totally gross!  It didn’t hurt, but if I pushed on it, more stuff would come out.  Again….so gross!  I emailed my mom and my sisters to tell them about it, since my bump has been a bit of a running joke in my family.  When I have a brain fart and can’t find a word, I blame my “tumor”.  Anyways, both my mom and my sister said it is probably a sebaceous cyst that has become infected.  If you are so inclined, you can do a Google search and see all kinds of disgusting pictures and videos of people popping these cysts.  Mine is nowhere near as disgusting as any of those images or videos.

Anyways, I tried not to poke at my bump too much, since I didn’t really know what it was or what was coming out of it.  Monday when I was back home I gave the doctor a call and got an appointment to go in and see her about my bump.  That appointment was today.

My doctor did say that my bump is in fact a cyst.  She did not refer to it as a sebaceous cyst, just a cyst.  She said that this type of cyst, whatever type that is, will often get infected.  She is referring me to a dermatologist and the “derm” can decide if they want to remove it or just leave it.  She said that often when they remove them, they just come back.  She also said that if it splits again I should try to squeeze all I can out of it and she gave me some ointment to put on it if it opens up again.

So, no biggie with my bump…it’s not really anything and if it opens again, I get to squeeze to my heart’s content and get all the goo out of it.   I kind of hope it splits open again!

Now comes the not so fun part of the story.

While I was waiting for her to enter the prescription info into her computer I casually mentioned to her that a strange rash came out on my face yesterday.  She took a quick look, asked me a few questions and then…get ready for it, this is the part of my day that qualifies as the “just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse”…she said “it looks like shingles”  SHINGLES!!!  Are you f’ing kidding me?  OH MY GOD!!!  I knew I was tired and super stressed, but shingles?  Seriously?

So, I am now on anti-viral medication and just hoping we caught it early enough that it doesn’t get too bad.  My face is burning a bit and is a bit tingly, but nothing beyond a bit of discomfort.  Let’s hope this is as bad as it gets.

My stress level has not reduced at all, if anything, this has just added to it, since I missed half a day of work and had to get caught back up.  Let me tell you, I am seriously looking forward to my vacation the first full week of August.  I really need a break.

So, there you have it, my “just when you think it can’t get any worse” it get’s worse story…because my life just wasn’t crazy enough already!

I sure hope your Thursday was better than mine.  The best part of today is that tomorrow is Friday! Thank God!!!

3 responses to “Just When I Thought It Couldn’t Get Any Worse

  1. Tony Carbon says:

    I don’t want to hit like because I feel bad what you went through today. So I’m just going to say tomorrow will be better than today and by Sat will be better than Fri… Hang in there!

    Tony – The Head Duffer

    Like

  2. […] may remember my post from last week where I mentioned the bump on my head and how it started to leak just a little bit. I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

