My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Reunion Weekend Round-Up

on July 22, 2012

The weekend Rory, the kids and I headed down to St. Mary’s area for my 20th reunion with my Teacher’s College girlfriends.  Way back in 1992, we all graduated from Nipissing University Teacher’s College.  We actually all met each other the year before during our Orientation to Teaching Year.  This was a program that we took during out last year of undergrad that had a course in education and also required a number of us to take a calculus course to fulfil a math requirement that number of us needed.  It was in that calculus class that we really bonded.  Nothing like integrals and derivatives to bring a bunch of girls together!

Anyways, back to the weekend.  Friday after work, we loaded up the truck to the roof with luggage, the tent, sleeping bags, air mattresses, a cooler full of beer and food, and other supplies for the weekend.  After a stop along the way, to drop off cousin Thomas who was visiting for a few days, we were off to our final destination.

We arrived at Tina and Graham’s, our hosts for the weekend, around 8:30pm. The rest of the gang was already there.  It was so nice to see everyone again.  After a round of hugs and hello’s, we unpacked the car and Rory and the boys put up our tent…our home away from home for the weekend.

After getting the tent set up, it was time for a bonfire and some beers!  After the week I had, this weekend with friends was exactly what I needed to get away from things for a few days.  From the time we pulled out of the driveway Friday, I was able to forget about work, and all the insanity that goes along with it.  It was perfect.  We had lots of laughs, roasted marshmallows and made spider dogs on he bonfire, before turning in for our first night of “camping”.

After a pancake breakfast Saturday morning, Tina had organized a “Minute to Win It” competition.  Everyone brought supplies for a few games, we were divided into teams and then the fun ensued!  We played lots of silly games, had lots of laughs, and in the end one team beat the other by a single point.  The score didn’t really matter.  All that mattered that everyone was involved and we had a great time.  Here are a few pics of the various games.

After Minute to Win It and lunch, we were off to the quarry in St Mary’s for an afternoon of swimming.  The kids loved swimming in the quarry and spent quite a few hours in and out of the water.  They followed that up with some beach volleyball  and one final dip in the quarry.  All in all, it was a great afternoon of fun.  I took a pass on the swimming due to the shingles (which sucks, HUGE, by the way).

After the quarry it was back to home base for a few drinks, some food and more good times.  The boys had a blast taking turns driving the Gator around the yard.  The both think that we need one of these for around the house.  They are nuts!

It was such a great weekend.  We laughed a lot, ate way too much, enjoyed being together again and are looking forward to doing it again, hopefully soon.

A little tradition that we started the last time we got together was to get a picture of all the kids on the stairs at the house.  They are all getting bigger, but they are still a pretty cute bunch of kids.

 

The teacher girls also pose for a group shot:

The girls: Tina, Melissa, Sheila, Me, Laura, Joan, and Dana

We did a full group shot that included the teachers, spouses and kids, but I didn’t get one on my camera.  Melissa had a camera with a remote control, so she was in charge of the group shot.  Hopefully I get a copy of that from her soon!

The girls don’t get together all that often – the last time we did this was about 4 years ago – but when we get together, it’s like it was just yesterday.  It was so great to see everyone again, and I am already looking forward to the next time we all get together, whenever that may be.

Changing gears a bit, today was supposed to be the first day of my new training schedule for my October half marathon.  I did not run today, but will try to get out there some time this week.  I am not sure running will be such a good idea since I am supposed to be resting and trying to de-stress with these stupid Shingles.  So far, they aren’t too bad.  I’m hoping that I caught them early enough and got onto the anti-viral meds quickly enough that they won’t get too bad.  I’m just not sure if I should push my luck and run.  I’ll see how I feel in a few days and decide then.  Hopefully I will be good to go.  I actually WANT to get out there and run!

I hope you all had a good weekend.   Here’s hoping this week goes by quickly and smoothly….I don’t really need any extra stresses this week!  

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

