My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Totally Random Tuesday

on July 24, 2012

Well, it’s Tuesday.  Today’s random topics are golf (okay, not so random) and Shingles.

My Shingles comments will be short and to the point.  Shingles suck!  They are itchy, ugly, and I’m tired of them.  Hopefully they are almost done.

Tuesday is my golf league night.

Today, I played my first round Match Play game against Michelle, a fellow EWGA member.  I had been looking forward to this match, that is, until I learned we were playing the back 9 today.  I hate the back 9.  It starts with the toughest hole on the course.  Check out the scorecard to see what I mean.  There are two horrendous carries and it is just a brutal hole.  It messes with me mentally every time I play it.  Today was no different.  I started with a 9.  UGH!!!

After that, as is usual for my game, there was some good, some bad and some ugly!  In the end, I shot a 59 (my worst score so far this year), but given the way that match play works, I actually won the match based on the hole by hole competition.  I won 4 holes, Michelle won 2 and we tied 3.  Michelle is a better golfer than I am, so had to give me 5 strokes, 1 stroke each on the 5 toughest holes on the back.  This means that on these holes, I got to deduct one stroke from my score on that hole.  For 2 of the holes that I won, that stroke made a difference, giving me the win for that hole.

The win puts me to the winners side of the bracket.  My next match will be against Carol, another player who also won her first match.  Carol is also a better golfer than I am, so once again, she will have to give me a few strokes.  Hopefully I play better during that match than I did tonight!

Tonight’s match was also quite slow.  This meant that I didn’t get off the course in time to make my ball hockey game.  I was disappointed to miss it, and I heard after that we had a very short bench and lost quite badly, but missing it was probably a good thing for me Shingles-wise. I am not very good at resting, so missing the game was probably a blessing in disguise for me.

Speaking of resting…I better get my tired self to bed.  The weather has finally cooled off a bit and we were able to turn off the AC and open the windows.  Nothing beats sleeping with the windows open.  Night all!

Hope your Tuesday was Totally Random! 

Leave a Reply

