My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Back At It

on July 29, 2012

Sunday is long/slow run day on my new half marathon training schedule.  The schedule called for 8km, but since I didn’t run last week as I was resting due to the Shingles, I decided to start with last week’s 6km distance instead of the called for 8km.  I was hoping to get up early and get out there and run before it got too hot.  However, after having a very bad night’s sleep, I just couldn’t haul my butt out of bed when my alarm went off at 7:30am.  I lay there for a while longer and finally got up, put on my run gear and headed downstairs to have a quick bite before hitting the road.  I couldn’t find anything that I wanted to eat, so I just took a Cliff Vanilla Power Shot.  I finally got out the door at 9:10, much later that I wanted.

This was pretty much the first run I’ve done since the Toronto Women’s Half Marathon back in May.  To say I was nervous to do today’s run would be an understatement.  I started out and things were pretty good for the first couple of kilometres…and then the heat got to me a bit.  My head started throbbing which I wasn’t too crazy about.  I ended up walking for more than I would have liked, but I didn’t want to push it too much since I’m still recovering from Shingles and it’s only the first run and I’ve got 12 weeks of runs ahead of me.  In the end, my route was 6.3km and I walked more than I would have liked, but “a mile is a mile, no matter how fast they are”.  At least I did it.

 

After my run, I took the rest of the day pretty easy.  Spent some time outside reading – that is until my iPad gave me a “temperature” warning and turned itself off to cool down.  I guess that was a sign that it was stinking hot out there today.  I was laying on our outdoor couch and it was too hot.  I was melting.  I switched over to the hammock to see if having air moving all around me would make it a bit cooler.  It did a bit.  I was hoping to have a little nap out there, but just couldn’t get comfortable enough to fall asleep.  Finally I gave up and went in and had a real nap in bed.  It was great!  I could really get used to this napping…too bad it likely won’t happen again for quite a while!

Rory was up at the cottage for the weekend with the boys, but was planning on being back home in time for dinner.  I was planning on making the Roasted Fennel with Tomatoes, ChickPeas and Lemon dish from the July 2012 edition of Clean Eating Magazine.  I had planned on making this dish a couple of times before, but something always got in the way and it never happened.  Today was the day.  I bought the needed ingredients yesterday on my trip to the health food grocery store.  Here’s what you need:

More precisely, you will need:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 fennel bulbs, trimmed, quartered and fronds reserved for garnish
  • 1.5 cups grape or cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 leek, halved lengthwise and sliced into 1/4-inch-thick half-moons, white and light green parts only
  • 1 15-oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste
  • zest of 1 lemon, for garnish (I skipped this since I didn’t have a lemon

Cooking instructions:

  • preheat oven to 425F
  • In a large overproof saute pan or skillet, heat oil on medium.  Add fennel and cook, turning occasionally, until golden brown and slightly wilted, about 10 minutes
  • Stir in tomatoes, leek, chickpeas, salt, cumin, pepper flakes and paprika.  Add 1/2 cup water, stir gently and bring to a simmer. cook for 3 to 5 minutes.
  • transfer to oven and bake, stirring halfway, for 30 minutes
  • season with black pepper.  Garnish with lemon zest and fennel fronds, as desired.

Nutritional info, per 1/2 cup serving:

  •  205 calories
  • 10g total fat
  • 1g sat fat
  • 25g carbs
  • 7g fibre
  • 2g sugar
  • 6g protein

 

This dish was AMAZING.  It will definitely be one that I make again.  The recipe says it serves 6.  Rory and I likely had a double portion for dinner, since 1/2 cup just didn’t seem like enough for a meal.   There was enough left for 2 good size lunches for me this week.  Yay!

Tonight is a big tv night for us.  Big Brother was on (we watched while I wrote this post).  Later tonight, Breaking Bad and The Newsroom are both on at 10pm.  We will likely watch The Newsroom, since it is a straight hour with no commercials. We’ll PVR Breaking Bad so we can watch it tomorrow and skip through the commercials.  Gotta love the PVR!

Tomorrow is a rest day in my training program – I love rest days!  I’m planning on making another Clean Eating Mag recipe for us tomorrow – Lean Pork Tenderloin with Bakes Apples & Maple Caramelized Onions.  The pic in the mag looks great.  Hopefully it will taste just a good.  I will let you know tomorrow.

Well, there it is, another weekend over.  It was a weird weekend for me, being home alone.  I didn’t do too much, managed to get in a few naps, and did some baking/cooking.  I’ve got 5 days of work to get through and then we are on vacation for a week.  Let’s hope these next 5 days fly by quickly and smoothly.

I hope you all had a great weekend.  Did you do anything exciting?  Did you try any new recipes?  

Cheers!

One response to “Back At It

  1. […] journey to a smaller jean size « Back At It Jul […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

