My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The End of Another Busy Day

on August 1, 2012

I am so glad today is almost over.  It’s been a busy day.

I was up at 6:30 to go for a run.  It was supposed to be a 6km steady run, but I ended up just going a little over 5km, since I can’t run 6km without stopping yet.  I didn’t run the 5km without stopping.  Jack Rabbit has told me that I should not be stopping in my steady runs. The problem is…I can’t run too far without stopping yet, definitely not 6km.  I got about 2.5km today before I stopped.  When am I going to be able to run for a longer distance straight?  Ugh…frustrating!

I  think a big part of my problem and why I stop, is that I am running alone.  If I get tired when I’m running and I am running alone, which is how I almost always run, I don’t have any internal motivation to keep going.  This has always been a big problem for me.  I need to do some investigation on the web and look for some motivational pod casts that I can put on my iPod and listen to while I run to keep me going.  It would also be nice if I could find a running partner.  My sister is also training for the same half marathon, but our schedules don’t really work for running together.  Hopefully soon we will at least be able to do our long runs together.  Running alone sucks. Thankfully next week when we are at the cottage, all my girlfriends are coming up at some point in the week, so I will have lots of people to run with up there!

Work was another crazy day.  I’ve got so many things that I need to get wrapped up before I go on vacation on Friday.  Hopefully I get most of it done tomorrow and Friday can be slightly less hectic than the rest of the week has been.

Tonight hubby and I went out for a nice dinner for an early celebration of our anniversary.  On Monday, Aug 6, it will be our 18th wedding anniversary.  We will be up at the cottage with our family on that day and the following day our friends start rolling in for the week, so not exactly a romantic situation.  So, tonight, since the kids are already up at the cottage, we decide to go out for a nice dinner.  We ended up going to The Melting Pot Fondue Restaurant.  We had a “Big Night Out” dinner, which has a cheese fondue to start, salad, the main meat fondue and then a chocolate fondue to finish up.  Oh my god….so good!  Totally not on the clean eating plan, but it was a special night, so I didn’t worry too much about it.  We had a nice leisurely meal, had a few laughs, and a good chat.  We even got a complimentary box of chocolate dipped strawberries to take home with us, since we were celebrating our anniversary.   It was a very nice night.

 

After dinner, it was home to catch up on Big Brother.  We PVR’d it since we were going to be out.  The Veto was used and Frank is now on the block.  Can’t wait until tomorrow to see who is going to be out the door.  Hopefully it’s Frank!

Now, hubs is snoozing on the couch and I am furiously typing so I can wrap up this post and get to bed.  I’ve got a 4km tempo run to do tomorrow morning.  I’m terrified!  I’ll let you know tomorrow how it goes.

Hope your Hump Day was a good one.  

 

Two days until the weekend and the start of my vacation!  Come on Friday!!!

6 responses to “The End of Another Busy Day

  1. runninghaiku says:

    I like Hal Higdon’s training app on my iPhone (I was a Blackberry user for years as well and made the switch almost ten years later.) It keeps your training schedule, tracks your runs, plays your music list during your runs, but also uses his voice to interject words of encouragement and progress during the runs. Maybe that would help? Also, have you tried taking ibuprofen before you run? I’d be curious to know if that makes a difference. Sometimes when I was first building distance I would make sure the second half of my run was on a busier road, hoping that knowing all the drivers could see me would keep me from walking. Good luck! You’ve done it before – you’ll do it again!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Thanks for the tips. I’m willing to try anything at this point!! Sounds like another reason for me to switch over to iPhone as well! I will check out that app for sure.

      Like

  2. runninghaiku says:

    It’s pricey as far as apps go ($10) but I really liked it for my training on the last half marathon and ran under 2:30 (thought about you) unlike my first half. I’m sure there are less expensive apps but I’m going to use this one for my third half as well until someone tells me there’s something better. I like being able to track everything in once place. Until then, the cheapest way to force yourself to not stop while running solo is knowing others are watching. (Pretend your sister will be driving by.)

    Like

  3. gtarallo says:

    Don’t get too frustrated with the running.You just started up again and it takes a while for your body to adjust to the mileage. Plus you are getting over the shingles. I’m sure within a couple of weeks, you will be right where you should be. Happy Anniversary! 18 years is remarkable..congratulations!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. I was just mentioning to my sister the other day that I need to stop being so hard on myself. I’m out there doing it and that has to be worth something. I hope you are right and that within a few weeks I will be seeing improvement. It’s all better than sitting on the couch, right! have a great weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

