My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Thumbs Up!!!

on August 12, 2012

Today was my long run day. It was only my third long run (since I missed the first one when I was sick a few weeks ago), but I am already up to 14km. My other long runs were only 8k and 10k so I was a bit nervous about jumping to 14k so quickly.

I actually put off the run as long as I could. I didn’t have any run nutrition (gels or chews) so I made a quick trip to The Running Room to pick up some Chocolate Outrage GU, Clif Shot Vanilla Gel, and some Honey Stingers in three different flavours.

20120812-214345.jpg
When I got home from the Running Room, I put on my shoes, grabbed my water belt and iPod and headed out the door to do some stretching. Just as I was about to hit the road when some friends of ours walked by and stopped to chat. About 5 minutes later I finally hit the road for this 14k run.

Once I finally got out there I just focused on putting one foot in front of the other and covering off the kilometers. The route I took had a few long, gradual hills which I wasn’t crazy about, but for the most part, they weren’t too bad. The one at 13k was not my favourite and I did end up walking a bit of it 😦

Overall, the run wasn’t too bad. It was not easy, but I did it! While I was out there, I passed another runner on the trail a few times. The first time I was going one way and she was going the other. The next time, she blew by me so effortlessly. The third time she was going passed me after I had made my turn back at the 7k mark, and she gave me a wave. I smiled and said “you’re so fast!”. She smiled and said something that I couldn’t hear because she was already so far ahead of me and I had my headphones in. I saw her one more time when she was going the other way again. I was still trudging along and she was still flying. She gave me a smile and a thumbs up and that was just what I needed to keep going. I had about 3k left and I was starting to lose momentum a bit, but that thumbs up gave me a little more spring in my step. All I kept thinking was keep going. I set little goals and each one I met, I gave myself a little mental thumbs up and set the next goal. The next set of street lights, the top of that hill, the driveway on the corner. Each one was a little thumbs up. I have no idea who this speedy woman was, but she helped me get through my 14k run.

In the end, my run looked like this:

20120812-224047.jpg

14k, 1 hour and 45 minutes, 934 calories burned, and an average pace of 7:31 that includes 1 minute walk breaks every 10 minutes. Not speed demon pace, but Jack Rabbit keeps telling me long runs are slow runs and are for getting the legs used to moving for a long time so they will be ready for race day. I’m sure out there long enough…hopefully it’s doing what it’s supposed to be doing! I guess we will find out in October!

After my run, I had a quick bite to eat and then I was off to GoodLife gym with my sister to help her practice for her Body Attack instructor video. She needed to practice the second half of her class which was a lot of cardio and some lower body work. Just what I needed – more leg work! We probably did about half an hour of the routine, and holy cow…it was killer! I was sweating like crazy and my legs were killing me! The best part was the stretching track that we did at the end. I’m not the best at stretching after my runs, so it was good to be put through some good stretches. It felt great. I know I should try to stretch more after my runs, but by the time I’m done with the run, all I want to do is shower up and get on with my day. I will add that to the list of things I need to make a better effort at – sleep, clean eating, stretching. I’m sure there are a few more things that can be added to that list..for now, we will leave it at those three!

Tomorrow is a rest day in my training schedule. Wohoo! But it is also back to work for me since holidays are over. I’m sure there will be lots of things that have come up in the past week that I will need to deal with tomorrow. I dread it. Hopefully it won’t be too bad. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Well, once again, it’s late. I’m going to sign off and go to bed.

Hope you had a good weekend, and that all things were “thumbs up”!

20120812-232429.jpg

7 responses to “Thumbs Up!!!

  1. Sarah says:

    Congrats on completing your run!! And that is an awesome pace time!! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow…14km awesome :)!

    Like

  3. Thanks for helping me out 🙂

    I’m guessing you slept well last night?

    Like

Leave a Reply

