My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Laziest Day EVER!

on August 18, 2012

Today may have been my laziest day in a long time…and I gotta say, it was pretty great!

I started by waking up way too early since it was cold in our cabin at the cottage. I found a blanket, threw it on the bed, and managed to get another few hours of sleep! Awesome! It was so nice to just be able to crawl back into bed and go back to sleep.

When I finally got up, I had a quick bowl of Shreddies and then my lazy day began. I pretty much lay on a couch reading all day. I read a little bit of everything today…all on my iPad..including Clean Eating magazine, Golf Digest, Wired, more blogs than I can count, and I started the book “Divergent”. My friend Toni recommended this book to me quite a while ago and I actually started it once before but didn’t get very far with it. So far I’m on chapter 7 and can’t wait to go to bed and read some more!

The weather at the cottage today wasn’t the greatest. It was a bit windy with quite a few clouds which made it a little cool. At about 3pm the clouds broke up a bit so I went out for a little siesta on the dock. When the sun was out it as quite lovely.

Hubs and I were in charge of dinner for the cottage tonight (10 people in total), and we had decided on beer can chicken, baked potatoes and corn on the cob. I also did a sweet potato for me since I’m trying to eat healthy. I sliced it into 1cm rounds, put just a tiny bit of butter, some salt and pepper and wrapped it in tin foil and tossed it on the grill with the rest of the potatoes. They were slightly over-cooked, but tasted so great with some caramelization…Yummo!

20120818-214859.jpg.

Beer can chicken really is the easiest thing to BBQ. The toughest part is making the rub and getting the chicken onto the can…and this is easier now since we’ve got some beer can chicken holders so you just cram the bird on and you are good to go.

20120818-215459.jpg

For the rub I pretty much just threw a little bit of everything into a jar. The rub had cayenne, paprika, cumin, pepper, garlic salt, Old Bay, oregano, and probably a few more spices I’m forgetting. I put a tablespoon inside each bird, the same into each beer can (which needed to be only half full…so I HAD to drink the other half!). I rubbed the rest all over the birds, then mounted them on the stands and threw them in the BBQ with indirect heat and an hour or so later they were cooked to perfection. Crispy on the outside and so juicy on the inside! I forgot to take a picture, but mine looked just like this guy, except mine were on a can of Corona, of course!

20120818-220556.jpg.

The weather is supposed to be a bit nicer tomorrow. A little bit warmer and less cloudy. I hope it’s still a bit cool in the morning since I’ve got a 14k long run to do. My plan is to get up fairly early and get my run done so I can spend another lazy day reading and relaxing tomorrow. I’ve got my run nutrition (GU shot and Honey Stingers) and my awesome run tunes, so I should be all set. I’m going to spend a bit of time tonight getting myself psyched up to get up and run. I will let you know how it all goes!

How was your Saturday? Were you a lazy bum like me, or did you actually get some things done today?

Have you tried beer can chicken? Don’t you just love it?

4 responses to “Laziest Day EVER!

  1. Glad you are getting some rest! Totally forgot to get you to leap file those tunes 😦 looks like tomorrows run is going to be either a) really quiet – no tunes or b) fast if I go to the beat of the attack music! Yikes!

    Like

  2. Tony Carbon says:

    Yum! Beer can chicken! Then again anything with beer in it is good in my book!

    Tony – The Head Duffer
    http://www.chicagonow.com/duffers-digest

    Like

Leave a Reply

