My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Working My New Attitude

on August 30, 2012

So, yesterday I decided I was no longer going to wait to be motivated – who knows if that is ever going to happen. Instead I have decided to be determined, and so far it’s working!

Determination got me thru my hill training yesterday, and its what got me out of bed early this morning to get my tempo run done before work. Despite going to bed a bit later than I had planned, I still had the longest night’s sleep that I’ve had in a very long time. Still, when my alarm went off this morning I really didn’t want to get up…but I was determined to get that tempo run done before work. I had people coming for dinner tonight, so there wouldn’t be a chance to get it done after work.

After hitting the snooze button once, I got up, put on my run gear, grabbed my excellent run tunes, my trusty Garmin, and headed out the door. The schedule called for a 6k tempo run, but since for some reason it took my Garmin about 5 minutes to connect to the satellites, I shortened my route a bit and only did a little over 5k. It was a pretty good run. It wasn’t easy and there were times I wanted to stop, but I kept moving. I was just determined to run it, and there were actually times when it felt good to run fast (fast for me, at least!). I am starting to feel like a runner! Finally!!!

In the end, this was my fastest tempo run yet!

20120830-225018.jpg

Another thing I am determined to get back on track with is my clean eating. Today was a good clean eating day food wise for me. Breakfast was Skinnytaste Overnight Oats in a Jar, lunch was Chicken Ginger Soup (from the Aug/Sept issue of Clean Eating magazine) that my sister made and shared with me, and dinner was a grilled turkey sausage on a bun, with raw carrots, cucumber, tomato, and yellow beans. I did have a treat tonight while watching Big Brother of a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich, so it wasn’t too bad.

Even though it’s only been a day with my new attitude, I have to say I’m liking it. For me, being determined is a LOT easier than being motivated!

20120830-231635.jpg

Tomorrow is the start of a long weekend! Wohoo! We are heading to the cottage, and I will have to do my 16k long run up there on Sunday. This means it will be a tough run with more than a few hills. Hopefully this time, when I get to the seemingly never ending hill around the 7k mark, I will remember my new attitude and be determined to haul my ass up that hill. Fingers crossed!

Finally, did you watch Big Brother tonight? Can you believe it? Best move in Big Brother history for sure. Dan is a genius! Man, I love that stupid show!

Hope your Thursday was a good one. Only one more work day to make it through until the long weekend starts! Got any big plans or big runs?

3 responses to “Working My New Attitude

  1. It was your post the other day that made me decide to give running a real try before I say it’s not for me! I always say Oh I don’t like running but I’ve never really given it a fair shot! So I am now determined to really try it before I say if it’s for me or not πŸ™‚ Go Dan! He is an amazing player!! I too love that silly show….

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Good luck with the running. I’m still not sure it’s for me despite the fact that I’ve been doing it for a while. This time though, I am starting to feel more like a runner. I will never be one of those super skinny gazelles I see out there, effortless running like the wind…but I’ve accepted that. I will just keep plodding along and hopefully it will keep getting a bit easier.

      Can you believe that Dan masterminded that whole thing…seriously the best things I’ve ever seen on Big Brother.

      Have a great weekend!!

      Like

      • Hahaha! No I don’t expect to be that way either! After I try it I may decide I was right in the first place πŸ™‚ I though that whole thing was brilliant!! Glad Brittney is gone….she’s just to whiny for me!! Enjoy your long weekend too…

        Like

Leave a Reply

