My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #5: Pictures of your favourite place to workout

on September 5, 2012

Happy Wednesday, everyone! Today is day 5 of the September Writing Challenge and the topic is your favourite place to workout.

For my last half marathon, I did a LOT of my runs on my treadmill since my training started in the winter and I just didn’t seem to get outside until later on my schedule. The treadmill is down in our unfinished basement, and the views are less than inspiring:

20120905-231911.jpg

If you look closely, you can see my old training schedule and mile/kilometre conversions charts taped to the vapour barrier!

Training for this half marathon, I have done all of my runs outside. I have to say, running outside is WAY better than running in my basement! My weekday runs are generally around my neighborhood, or on the trail that runs through town. I like these runs just fine, but I think my favourite place to run is up at the cottage. It is always so peaceful, I never have to fight traffic, and everyone I pass on my route waves and says hi. Plus the scenery is just gorgeous (even the hills) and nothing beats having a tall glass of ice water and staring out over the lake when I am finished. It is just so relaxing.

20120905-233916.jpg

Thankfully, I will get one more cottage run in before the half. We will be up there for Thanksgiving. I will be in my taper then, and will have a nice 12k run to complete. The leaves should be changing and the fall colors should be beautiful. I can’t wait!

Where is your favourite place to workout?

6 responses to “September Writing Challenge #5: Pictures of your favourite place to workout

  1. Wow that is really beautiful! I think that could motivate anyone to go for a run πŸ™‚

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      yes, i really enjoy my cottage runs. how is your running coming along?

      Like

      • Haven’t had the chance to get out again this week or on the treadmill 😦 I had planned to get out at least twice, but of course….it’s been one of those weeks where life gets in the way of my fitness plans!! Hopefully tonight I will get one in before BB!

        Like

  2. […] right next to my treadmill in the basement (which you saw in yesterday’s post), is a full Nautilus machine that I could use if I really wanted […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

