My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #7: Favourite Strength Move

on September 7, 2012

This 7th topic of the writing challenge will be short answer for me.  Favourite strength move…I don’t have one. 

Lately, I have only been focusing on running and training for my half marathons.  After taking about 4 years off running (mainly due to a nagging injury I got while training for a full marathon), I started running again this past March when I began training for my May half marathon and then I started training again in late July for my upcoming Half in October. 

A couple of summers ago, I did do a few months of P90X workouts that involved strength training, but nothing since then.  I keep thinking about joining a gym, and taking a pump class to help make me stronger.  Then reality sets in and I try to figure out how I would fit gym workouts into my already crazy routine.  I’m not sure spending money on a gym is all that wise right now.  Maybe after my race I can think about it a bit more seriously, but I’m still not convinced it’s for me.

Plus, right next to my treadmill in the basement (which you saw in yesterday’s post), is a full Nautilus machine that I could use if I really wanted to. 

nautilus

We put this bad boy together maybe a year ago after we dragged the pieces out of my sister’s garage.  Hubs had great plans to start working out down there while I ran on the treadmill.  Well, I ran, and he has yet to touch the thing! 

Maybe after my half in October I will see about working some strength training into my schedule.

What are your favourite strength moves?

2 responses to “September Writing Challenge #7: Favourite Strength Move

  1. Jill says:

    Squats! Regular squats, sumo squats, goblet squats…any kind really!

    Like

Leave a Reply

