My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #8: Workout Shoes

on September 9, 2012

I had a busy day yesterday and didn’t get a chance to write yesterday’s writing challenge topic:  How many pairs of workout shoes do you have?

While I have many old pairs of running shoes hanging out in the closet, I only have one pair that I actually run in….my Asics Gel Nimbus 13’s.

my shoes 2

I actually mentioned them in my Friday Five post just the other day. I think it’s time to replace them with a  new pair.  I’ve completed a half marathon training schedule along with a half race, and now about 1/2 of this schedule, so I’m pretty sure I’ve hit my mileage limit and they are also over 6 months old, which is another recommended replacement milestone. 

I’m always a bit nervous to switch to a new shoe, so I tend to just buy the same shoe until the manufacturer does something silly and changes the shoe beyond just colours.  When I first started running, almost 11 years ago, I wore Mizuno Wave Riders. I loved that shoe.  I must have tried on 10 pairs of shoes, some of which were okay, but not quite right.  Then I put the Wave Rider on and it was so obvious that they were the shoes for me…they felt like they were giving my foot a hug. I loved them.  I kept buying the next generation when I needed a replacement, and then one time, Mizuno did something and they didn’t fit the same.  They changed the design and it just didn’t work with my foot anymore.  So, it was back to trying on dozen of shoes and this is when I discovered the Asics Gel Nimbus.  I’ve been running in the Gel Nimbus for maybe 7 or 8 years now, and I’m not switching to something else until they do something to force me into a different shoe.

I’ve got my eye on the new Gel Nimbus 14’s….they are hot pink and I’m pretty sure they will make me FAST!

nimbus 14 2

How many pairs of workout shoes do you have?

Leave a Reply

