My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #11: Dream fitness vacation

on September 11, 2012

It is Day 11 of Fitness Cheerleader’s September Writing Challenge. Today’s topic is your dream fitness vacation. I’ve never really thought about a dream fitness vacation before.

For the last five or six years, we have gone on a ski vacation to Okemo Mountain in Vermont for March Break. In a way, I guess this is a bit of a fitness vacation since we are pretty active all day. We go with a big group of family and friends and have the best time. We ski and snowboard hard all day, enjoy some après ski beverages, hit the hot tubs, eat well and sleep well for a week. Between the fresh air and skiing/boarding all day, we are early to bed and early to rise. The chair lifts open at 9 and we like to be near the front of the line when they open, and most days members of our group are the last people off the hill at the end of the day. It is a great week. We need to decide soon if we will be going back again this year, or changing it up and going somewhere hot instead.

I would love to go on a golf vacation with a bunch of my girlfriends. We have often talked about going to Myrtle Beach or Florida, renting a condo, and playing a few rounds of golf in the morning and having some down time to hit the beach/pool in the afternoon.

As to a true “fitness vacation”, I don’t even know what’s out there. I think if I did go on a fitness vacation I would like one somewhere in the Caribbean, where I could get my workout done in the morning and then lie by the beach or pool for the rest of the day. I’m a huge fan of doing nothing on vacation. My work and home life is so hectic, when I go on vacation, I just want to relax. I am very good at lying in the sun, reading a book, and drinking piña coladas!

What is your dream fitness vacation?

Leave a Reply

