My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #12: how often do you weigh yourself

on September 12, 2012

Welcome to Day 12 of the September Writing Challenge. Today’s topic is how often do you weigh yourself.

20120912-222039.jpg

I know I shouldn’t do this, but I weigh myself everyday. I always weigh myself first thing in the morning before I get in the shower. I realize that my weight will fluctuate each day, but I find I need the regular check in to just make sure I keep on track. A pound either way doesn’t get me too worried, but if I find it creeping up, then I know I need to pay closer attention to what I am eating.

This daily weigh in, combined with half marathon training, and trying to eat clean has been working for me. Since January of this year, I’ve lost 16 pounds and I’m back into my “skinny jeans”! Ideally, I’d like to lose 4 more pounds, which would get me to my original goal weight.

For this to happen, I really need to start eating better. This weekend I absolutely need to get organized with my weekly menu and get all the supplies I will need for a week of clean recipes.

20120912-221834.jpg

8 responses to “September Writing Challenge #12: how often do you weigh yourself

  1. If weighing yourself everyday helps you stay focused, then I’m all for it. Just don’t let that scale define you. 🙂 Love that 2nd picture!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      yes, it’s important not to focus too much on the number. I really go by how my clothes are fitting. when that waist band gets too tight, I know it’s time to get things back under control.!

      Like

  2. On WW they suggest we stay away from the SCALE as we weigh in for them. I should listen to them and just DO THE PLAN 😦

    I weigh in and see I am up not much but UP then I get mad because I tracked and did everything right then the following day I am down 3 and next up one maddening lol I am afraid I guess to trust the system and also need a constant reminder even when it says I gained 😦

    This will drive me nuts I am sure so when I saw your post I had to read it 🙂

    I am down 50lbs, well more like 80 but I gain,loose,gain,loose lol

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I did WW unofficially about 11 years ago, after my son was born. I found an app for my blackberry and tracked points and exercise. I was able to lose the 20lbs I put on when I was pregnant plus an 26 additional pounds. I managed to keep it off for a long time and then last year, about 15-20lbs crept back on. I started eating clean and running again and now most of it is off again. Now I’m just working to get rid of these last 4 pesky pounds!

      Scales are a frustrating thing for sure. I know lots of programs that say only weigh yourself once a week. I just can’t do that…i need the daily check in to keep me on track.

      Congrats on your incredible weight loss. Stick to the plan…it seems to be working for you!

      Like

      • Thanks for your story! I work hard with my injuries I do all I can then rest and do more later I hate being on pain meds so I go without and log each morsel and eat proper amounts no longer am I feeding an emotional need now I eat when I am hungry.
        Eunice

        Like

  3. Di says:

    That’s exactly what I posted! Most fit pro’s will say not to weigh yourself daily but if it works for you and it’s not an eating disorder trigger then go for it! Better to weigh everyday than suddenly realise in 3 years you are 50lbs heavier!

    http://www.workoutwithdi.com/how-often-do-you-weigh-yourself/

    Like

Leave a Reply

