My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #13: Proudest health or fitness accomplishment

on September 13, 2012

It’s Day 13 of Fitness Cheerleader’s September Writing Challenge.  Today’s topic is our proudest health or fitness accomplishment.  ‘

Hmmm…this is a tough one.  Really, I haven’t done all that much fitness-wise.  I suppose if I have to pick something, I would have to say running a full marathon back in 2007.  I had been running with friends and we trained for a few half marathons together.  I was enjoying the running, and was chatting with my sister and mentioned that I wanted to run a full marathon before I turned 40.  We decided that we would train for the Toronto Waterfront full marathon together.  This race was actually a few weeks after my 40th birthday, but we figured it was close enough.

We trained hard all summer and things were going very well.  We were running long runs together and I was getting my other regular runs in on my own.  All was going well, until about 3 weeks before the race.  I have no idea what happened, but my right hip/hamstring started to act up on long runs and then it just hurt all the time.  I say a chiropractor and had massage therapy on it but nothing made a difference.

It was awful.  It got to the point that I couldn’t run without pain.  It sucked.  I probably should have just stopped and gone to the doctor or physiotherapist to see what was really wrong with me, but I couldn’t.  I had trained so hard for it, I just couldn’t miss the race.  I didn’t want to have to start over and do all that hard work again.  So, I pretty much stopped training, and just gave my leg some rest.

Race day finally arrived, and the pain in my leg was still there HUGE.  I was popping Arnica, Advil, and Tylenol all through the whole race.  I was able to run part of it, but eventually the pain got to be too much and I did walk quite a bit.  Then at some points, the drugs seemed to kick in and I could run a bit.  In the end, it was not a good day for me, my leg was in pain the whole race, but I finished!  My time was horrible, but I pretty much knew it would be since I walked probably half of the race.  But I FINISHED…and I bought myself a ring from Sporty Jewels  at the expo to prove it:

So, although my time was awful, and I wasn’t able to run the race how I had initially planned, I am still pretty proud of myself for doing it.  Not everyone can say they have run a marathon.

After that run, I didn’t run again seriously until this spring when I began training for the half marathon I ran in May.  It was over 4 years from my marathon until I ran again regularly.  It took almost that whole time for my hip to finally stop hurting.  So far, it has been good, and has not given me any problems since starting up running again.

I’ve got about 5 weeks left until the Niagara Falls half marathon, and things are going very well in my training.  I’m really looking forward to race day and seeing if all this hard work is going to pay off.

There is talk starting with my sister that we will run another marathon when she turns 40.  I can’t believe I am even considering it.  I will be 47 when she is 40…I’m not sure my old body will be up to it.  She says she will make it a destination race, so hopefully we will find a good one to run.

What is your proudest health or fitness accomplishment?

Any suggestions for a great marathon to run somewhere outside of Toronto?  I say Hawaii, but that probably won’t happen!  🙂

One response to “September Writing Challenge #13: Proudest health or fitness accomplishment

  1. Congratulations! A marathon is tough but marathon+injury=awful! Good luck on your next race. Hawaii is beautiful, but I’m guessing it’s pretty humid for running. I hear Alaska is a pretty run.

    Here’s my proudest moment: http://sheslosingit.net/2012/09/14/blogger-challenge-13-trophy-wife/

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

