My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five: Saturday Edition

on September 15, 2012

Another week is done and it’s time for the Friday Five. A lot has happened since last Friday! 

friday-five2

1.  I like hills – well, hill training, at least!  I seriously never thought I would say that in my life.  Hill training has become my favourite workout of the week.  It is hard, it almost kills me, but it is making me stronger, and I love that I gives me some time to hang out with my sister.  This week we ran 7 hills…here’s how they looked:

Hill repeat Distance
(metres)
Time
(min:sec)
Pace
(min/km)
Faster or Slower than last week’s best (6:19) and worst (6:39) pace
1 427 2:41 6:18 Faster than best
2 430 2:36 6:04 Faster than best
3 426 2:50 6:41 Slower that worst
4 424 2:54 6:52 Slower than worst
5 421 2:47 6:38 Faster than worst
6 422 2:49 6:41 Slower than worst
7 418 2:37 6:16 Faster than best
This week felt harder than last week for some reason.  After the second trip up, I was a bit worried I was going to toss my cookies…must have been that blazing pace that did it to me!  6:04 is ridiculously fast for me.  Three of my hills were faster than my fastest time last week, and three of them were slower than my slowest hill last week.  I don’t know what that all means, but it’s kind of interesting. 
 
2. I finally bought my new shoes!  The are hot pink and awesome.  I’m sure they are going to make me VERY fast!
my fast shoes
 
3.  Last weekend I played in the Callaway Canada Cup with my friend George, and we won First Low Net. The Callaway Canada Cup is a two-person better ball format.  Each person plays their own ball, and the best score between the two players is recorded for the hole (gross score) and then handicap points and taken into consideration and that low score (low net) is recorded for each hole as well.  We had a 62 low net score which turned out to be by far, the best low net score.  We shot a gross score of 84.  That was pretty darn close too, since the winning score was 83.  The girls that won low gross always win low gross.  They are very good golfer, so for us to almost beat them was quite a feat.  Our prize for winning Low Net was a silver tray and 4 lovely wine glasses engraved with the Callaway chevron.  We also got a gift card to Golf Town. 
callaway cup prize
All in all, it was a great day on the course.  We were quite sure we were going to get quite wet, since it rained all night, and all during our drive to the course.  Thankfully, by the time we tee’d off, it had pretty much stopped and by the 3rd or 4th hole, the sun was peaking out and we were able to take off our rain gear and enjoy our day on the course. 
 
4. I ran my long run today instead of tomorrow.  This week’s long run was a relatively short 12k.  My sister and I headed out this morning to get it out of the way, since I’m going out tonight and not sure I will feel much like running tomorrow.  It was raining a bit when we headed out, so I wore my old shoes for the run, since I didn’t want to get my pretty new ones all wet and dirty their first day out. After running 18k last week, 12k seemed so short.  Short, but still tough.  In the end we finished in 1:26.  My pace was not quite as fast as it was last week, but that’s okay.  It was still a pretty good time for me.
12k time
It felt so good to get that run out of the way today.  I’m pretty sure I won’t feel like running tomorrow morning. And why is that you ask?…see point 5 below!
 
5.  Tonight we are going with a big group of friends to the Magna Wild Wild West Hoedown.
hoedown
This is a giant fundraising party that has been going on for 28 years in Newmarket/Aurora.  Despite living in Newmarket for 14 years, we have never been to the Hoedown before.  We’ve heard stories and it sounds like a pretty wild time.  It is a country theme (obviously!) and everyone dresses in their best cowboy outfits.  Good thing I saved those cowboy boots from back in the day, and hubs will finally get to wear a cowboy hat his brother got him from the Calgary Stampede many years ago.  The party is held in a giant, and I mean giant, tent on the Magna compound in Aurora.  I have no idea what it’s really going to be like, but I’m pretty sure that a few cocktails will be consumed – hence the reason I ran today!  Even though this week’s long run was only 12k, I’m pretty sure running it hung over would suck HUGE!  I’m sure there will be a few good party pics taken tonight.  I will try to get one of hubs and I in our best cowboy gear to show you tomorrow.  Yeeehawwww!!!
 
Happy Saturday, everybody. 
Got any big plans for the weekend?
One response to “The Friday Five: Saturday Edition

  1. Love the new shoes !! Have fun at the hoedown 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

