My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #16: Measuring Progress

on September 16, 2012

It’s Day 16 of Fitness Cheerleader’s September blogging challenge.  Today’s topic:  How do you measure your fitness progress?

For me, my go to measuring tool to track my progress is my Garmin.  I wear it for every run and when I get home I check all my stats.  The stat that I’m most interested in is my average pace.  To run my half marathon in 2:30, my pace needs to be 7:07/km.  This pace includes my walk breaks, which means my actual running pace needs to be faster than that.  I’m not exactly sure what that pace needs to be yet, so if anyone knows how to figure that out, please let me know.

This week’s 12k long run looked like this:

12k time

That average pace is just slightly slower than I need to run to reach my goal.  Here is how the 10 min run times broke down:
10 minute lap # Lap pace
1 7:04
2 6:45
3 7:12
4 7:02
5 7:12
6 7:07
7 7:04
8 6:55
Those lap pace numbers were just slightly slower than they were last week, and my overall average pace was 7 seconds slower than last week’s pace.  Still, it is in the ball park of where I need to be to achieve my 2:30 goal time.  Let’s hope I can keep this going right up to race day.  I have 5 weeks until race day!
 
Back when I started this blog, I was just getting back into healthy eating and running.  My goal at the time was to do the half marathon, lose weight, and get back into my “skinny” jeans. I had 3 or 4 pairs of jeans that I bought in my “skinny” days.  I am happy to report, that I am back into those jeans.  They are a less technical measuring tool for my progress! 
 
How do you measure your fitness progress?
 
Leave a Reply

