My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #21: Coffee

on September 20, 2012

Seriously, where has September gone? This month is just flying by. It is already the 21st, so that means it’s Day 21 of Fitness Cheerleader’s Challenge. Today’s topic: are you a coffee drinker?

I am definitely NOT a coffee drinker. I HATE it. I tried it once, when someone bought me a cup on a drive to go skiing. I couldn’t even bring myself to take one sip. The smell alone grosses me out. I held onto that cup of coffee, just about dying from the smell of it, for over an hour! I have no idea how those of you who like it drink the stuff! Yuck!

My favourite hot drink is a Starbucks Grande, Non-fat, No water, Tazo Chai. It is heaven in a cup.

our chais

Mom and Son chai lattes on the drive to school! Yummo!!!

While the Chai Latte is so delicious, it is also loaded with sugar and quite a few calories. Here is the nutritional information for a Grande, Non-Fat Chai Latte, as posted on the Starbucks webiste….and the way I drink mine is probably worse, since I get mine with no water.

Nutrition Facts Per Serving (16 fl oz)
Calories 210 Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g 0%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol <5mg 2%
Sodium 105mg 5%
Total Carbohydrate 45g 16%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 43g
Protein 8g
Vitamin A 8%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 30%
Iron 2%
Caffeine 95mg
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Just look at the amount of sugar in the thing…43g! That is more than I am technically supposed to be consuming all day, according to MyFitnessPal! In fact, it’s almost double!!! MyFitnessPal shows my target sugar consumption for a day is only 24g. Yikes! 95mg of caffeine probably isn’t a good thing either 😦

I know it is not the best thing for me, but sometimes I just need one! Any my son loves them too. He asks for one just about every day on our way to school. I limit us to one every few weeks. I think today might be a good day for one…it’s Friday…we deserve something for surviving another week!

What about you? Are you a coffee drinker?

2 responses to “September Writing Challenge #21: Coffee

  1. Erin says:

    Love, love, love! Best warm drink ever…I’m definitely going to miss it while I’m doing th sugar strike 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

