My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

September Writing Challenge #23: Sleep

on September 23, 2012

Happy Sunday, everyone.  It’s day 23 of Fitness Cheerleader’s writing challenge.  Today’s topic:  how many hours do you sleep at night?

My short answer to this:  not nearly enough! 

On an average night, I get maybe 6 hours of sleep.  I know I should get more, and I really want to, but it just never seems to happen.

By the time I get home from work, get the kid’s organized with any homework, make dinner, clean up after dinner, finish up kid’s homework, get the kids showered and into bed, do any laundry and try to get a bit of time to relax, watch TV and write my blog, it is usually quite late.  It also seems that when I do finally get to bed, my brain is not quite ready to turn off yet, so I usually read a bit in bed.

When I read a book, I usually last a few pages and then I’m ready to go to sleep.  The same is not true when I start reading blogs.  I can get so into reading the various blogs that I subscribe to and others that I stumble upon, that before I know it, it is well after midnight and I’m back down to 6 hours of sleep max.

If you’ve been following along with my blog before, you will know that I often mention that I need more sleep.  I know I’m not alone in this quest for sleep.  Here is a great infographic from mhealthtalk.com that I have referred to before.  It’s a bit small here, so go to the link to see it full size…it’s kind of scary how little sleep we are getting, compared to how much we really need, and how greatly it can impact our well-being.

you-need-sleep

What about you?  Are you getting enough sleep?

Leave a Reply

