My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on September 28, 2012

Welcome to the last Friday of September.  Seriously…where did the month go?

friday-five2

Here are this week’s Friday Five:

1.  My friend Amy sent me this quote the other day.  It made me laugh.

jogger

2.  My cute Nike Free Run shoes are driving me crazy one step at a time.  The foot bed of the shoe has a crazy squeak right around where the Nike sensor is supposed to sit in the shoe under the insole.  I don’t have the Nike sensor, so just left the piece of foam they ship with the shoes in the spot.

shoe sensor

I have tried everything to make the squeak stop.  I’ve removed the piece of foam, I’ve tried to push the plastic sensor holder more into the shoe, I’ve tried to pull it out.  I’ve taken the insole out of my shoes about 40 times trying to adjust it…but still, this is the noise that it makes:

The squeak…driving me crazy one step at a time!

I love the shoes…they are so cute and comfy…but that squeak!!!

3. Only 3 weeks until race day!  This weekend will be my last really long run of my training program for the Niagara Falls Half Marathon on Oct 21.  The schedule calls for 20k this weekend, and I will be running them once again with my sister.  We have been doing really well with our long runs, so hopefully the trend continues for this 20k, which will be the furthest we’ve gone.  After this weekend we start to taper. We drop to 12k next weekend and then the week before the race we’ve only got an 8k long run to do.  I’m hoping this week’s run goes well and sets me in the right frame of mind to be just as successful on race day.

go for it

4  I’m going scrapbooking with my sister tomorrow.  It has been a very long time since I spent any time scrapbooking, and I am getting further and further behind.  Hopefully I will be able to get a lots of pages completed tomorrow and get my mind back into it.  In 2 weeks my sister and I are actually going for a scrapbooking retreat with 8 other friends.  I need tomorrow’s day to get me back on track so when I’m away for the weekend I can get even more done and not waste time getting organized.

5.  I’m going for a massage after work today!  I know you could probably care less about this, but I am so looking forward to it!  I’ve got aches and pains from running, plus I seem to have done something to my shoulder and lower back at hockey last night, so an hour on the massage table is just what I need.  My massage therapist is awesome.  I know I will walk out of there feeling relaxed, much less achy, and ready for a nap!  I can’t wait!

Keep-Calm-and-Get-a-Massage

The only way this massage would be any better is if this guy were giving it to me!

ryan gosling massage

Happy Friday, everyone.  Hope you have an awesome weekend!

3 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. The squeaky shoe would drive me bananas!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Erin says:

    Funny how Nike didn’t comment on your tweet about the noisy shoes….

    Super excited about tomorrow, Sunday and our weekend away!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

