My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Countdown to Race Day: 14

on October 7, 2012

The big day is 2 weeks away!  I’m getting excited and nervous at the same time.  I have a feeling that these next two weeks are going to fly by!

Today I had a 12k long run to do.  I’m up at the cottage so that meant I would be running it alone.  I haven’t done a long run alone in quite some time.  I’ve been lucky lately, and my sister and I have been able to do our long runs together.  I was a bit nervous about having to go it alone this week, but had my upbeat run tunes on my iPod to keep me going. 

When I headed out for my long run this morning I wanted to see if I could do it at race pace.  My goal time for the half is 2:30 (that’s 6 minutes faster than my best half time so far).  To finish in 2:30, my average pace per km needs to be 7:06.  I run 10&1’s, so that means my running pace needs to be quite a bit faster than 7:06 so when the walk breaks get factored in the average is still 7:06 or faster.

Here’s how today’s run looked:

Oct 7 12k

Check out that average pace!  I did it!  I’m not gonna lie…it was not an easy run.  I had to push myself.  I started out great, maybe too fast, even, but found a grove and felt pretty good except for one 10 minute section in the middle of the run.  Here’s how the pace broke down for my 10 minute run laps

10 minute lap #

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Pace/km

6:30

6:39

6:39

7:03

7:15

7:00

6:50

6:46

I’m pretty happy with this run.  I have proven to myself that I can run as fast as I need to be able to reach my 2:30 goal time.  I just need to be able to keep it up for another 9km!  Wish me luck!

One bonus of running 12k this morning, is burning 840 calories.  I am going to need those extra calories today.  It is Thanksgiving weekend in Canada and I will be enjoying a wonderful turkey dinner tonight with family and friends at the cottage.  I love turkey dinners and the best part for me is the stuffing….and the pumpkin pie.  I’m not even going to feel the slightest bit guilty when I eat my slice of pumpkin pie with whip cream tonight.  I’ve earned it!

happyThanksgiving

How was your run today?

Happy Thanksgiving!

7 responses to “Countdown to Race Day: 14

  1. Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 I also love the stuffing 🙂 just finished making two pumpkin pies! Enjoy….great run!!

    Like

  2. That’s so exciting- looks like you definitely have the potential to nail your goals… best of luck!

    Like

  3. josh29152 says:

    Today was a an easy 6 miles for me. I am only running a few more days this week before my HM on Sunday. I’ll let you know how my run goes (i’m sure Ill write about it). Good luck on your race day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

