My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Countdown to Race Day: 13

on October 8, 2012

13 days until the Niagara Falls Half Marathon! Yesterday I got an email from the NFIM organizers with all the last minute information I would need for the race.  This is starting to get real!

Today is a rest day in my training schedule.  I do love me a rest day!

rest day

After my 12k speedy long run yesterday, I am happy to give my legs a bit of a rest.  I don’t feel too bad today.  I actually did a bit of stretching when I finished my run which seems to have helped – who knew! I really need to make stretching a bigger priority.  I am going to try to spend some time each day either stretching or using my foam roller to try and get my legs in the best possible state for race day. 

We are back home from being up at the cottage.  Grocery stores are closed for the Thanksgiving holiday and we don’t have much in the house since we knew we were going away…so it looks like we will be going out for dinner tonight.  I think we will hit up Boston Pizza and check out the new menu I keep hearing advertised on radio.  Then after dinner I will hit my Clean Eating cookbooks and magazines and plan out my menu for the next 3 days.  I’m going away on a scrap retreat next weekend so the boys can cook whatever they like while I’m gone! 

My workout plan for this week is as follows:

Tuesday:  6k tempo run
Wednesday:  speed training with my sister
Thursday:  hockey
Friday:  8k  race pace run.  This is supposed to be on Saturday, but if I can squeeze it in, I’m going to try and get it done before I go away for my girls scrap weekend.  If not, I will take my gear with me and run Saturday morning first thing.
Saturday and Sunday:  REST

What’s on your training schedule for this upcoming week?
Do you do menu planning?  Do you find it helps?

One response to “Countdown to Race Day: 13

  1. Good luck on your race! In other news, I just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://sheslosingit.net/2012/10/08/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Congrats!
    Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

