My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Countdown to Race Day: 5

on October 16, 2012

5

It’s getting down to the nitty-gritty now!

Yesterday was supposed to be a rest day, but it turned into a run day.  I was scheduled to go for a massage after work, but it was moved to tonight, so, I figured I would go for a run instead.  This way, I don’t have to feel guilty about not running tonight!  Here’s how the run looked:

4k oct 15

It was a pretty good run for me.  My calves were super tight and I did stop and pause my Garmin once to stretch them out…they were killing me!  Once I got about 2k into the run they started to feel better and the last 2k were awesome.  I was flying for the 3rd km…I glanced at my watch and my pace around 5:15-5:30 for quite a bit of it.  I was in the zone!  I will have to see if there is some way to get the km breakdown off my Garmin.  I think I have to download the info to my computer to get at that detail.  BTW…that’s my cat Ovie in the background.  Isn’t he a handsome fellow!

This run made me think that it might be a good idea for me to do a little 1.5k or so warm up run on Sunday before the race.  Hopefully it will get me into the “zone” quicker and I will have time to stretch my calves – I sure don’t want to have to stop during the race to do it! 

I will finish up with today’s race thought:

you are only racing yourself

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

