My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five: Niagara Falls Half Marathon Edition

on October 19, 2012

friday-five2

Well, the work week is over (thank God) and race day is almost here…YIKES!  Here’s this week’s Friday Five:

1.  I’m trying not to freak out!  The race is in 2 days!  I’ve just got to stay calm and remember:

relax, it's just another run

2.  I ran my last training run today.  I was able to sneak out of work early this afternoon and met my sister for one last run before the race.  We did an easy 4k and it felt pretty good. 

last run before hte half

We took it nice and easy and chatted as we ran.  When we got home, we looked up our pace bands for our goal times.  For me to hit my 2:30 goal, my running pace needs to be 6:55…so I should be okay, since this nice easy run had my average running pace of 6:44.  Fingers crossed!

3.  It’s official…I have my own personal Pace Bunny for the race!  My friend Kathy registered for the race and has made it her mission to get me across the line in 2:30 or less.  She is actually talking about a 2:20 finish time. I think that’s just crazy talk, but who knows! 

ks 2012

I asked hubs to do a little Photoshop work for me and put the pace bunny ears on Kathy.  He got creative and put her on the marathon course of the 2012 Olympics! 

4.  The weather looks like it is going to cooperate for Race Day. When I first started looking at the weather for race day, things did not look good.  It was initially calling for and 80% chance of rain and pretty chilly temps.  As of today it looks like it should be a sun/cloud mix and pretty decent temps.  We start at 10am, so it will likely be a bit cooler than this, but still a nice temp for a run.

race weather forecast

5.  The Half Marathon course.  The Niagara Falls half marathon runs along the Niagara Parkway, which follows along beside the Niagara River and ends right near Niagara Falls.  We will be bussed out to the starting line and run back in towards the Falls.  It is a very flat course…which makes me very, very happy!  Here is how the organizers describe the course:  ”The course is flat for the first 17.6K (11 miles) and has a 55 foot drop over the remaining 3.36K (2.1 miles). It is considered one of the fastest Half-Marathon courses in the country.”  Check out the elevation map: love the downhill to the finish!

elevation_half

BRING IT ON!!!

Anyone else racing this weekend?
Are you as nervous, terrified and excited as I am?

HAPPY FRIDAY.
HAPPY RUNNING!

5 responses to “The Friday Five: Niagara Falls Half Marathon Edition

  1. Good luck and have fun 🙂 I’m excited for you two!! Can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

    Like

  2. Good luck this weekend. It looks like a great course and who wouldn’t want some downhill action at the very end?! You will have a blast! Enjoy!!

    Like

  3. Erin says:

    You’re going to rock this race! Super jealous of your personal pace bunny!

    Love the photoshop, Kathy looks so cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

