My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Day After

on October 22, 2012

So, I am still enjoying my accomplishment of completing the Niagara Falls Half Marathon in under 2:30.  Turns out Kathy paused her Garmin while she took a pee-break…so my true time was not what appeared on her Garmin.

When I realized this I went into a bit of a panic.  I might not have made it.  Inside I was freaking out, but I tried to remain calm on the outside.  I went to the race results page to check my chip time.

NFIM results

2:29:55! 

Cut it pretty close, but still under 2:30.  I really did it!  Kathy crossed, just a few hundredths of a second before me. 

The last name in the chart above, Shirley, was the 2:30 pace bunny.  We were talking to her at the start and I said I was trying to beat 2:30.  As I was coming up to the finish, maybe the last 500 metres, I could see her walking and trying to round up the 2:30 people she was pacing.  She was very encouraging, telling me if I passed her, I would do it for sure.  Between that, and Kathy telling me if I didn’t run with all I had now she would “kick my ass”, I dug deep and sprinted with everything I had left in me to get across that line. 

2:29:55!  Wohoo!  It was a very emotional finish, and I am so thankful that Kathy ran with me.  She was the best pace bunny anyone could ask for! 

I’ll give a full race recap soon.  For now, I’m still enjoying the accomplishment and popping Aleve and Advil to help with the muscle pain!

cherish the results

Did you race this weekend?
How did it go?

6 responses to “The Day After

  1. Jill says:

    Congrats, Cathy!!

    Like

  2. playfulpups says:

    way to go! What an accomplishment!

    Like

  3. Bethany says:

    Yesss!! Fantastic Job! I had one of those emotional finishes at my half marathon this weekend too. I also ended with a sprint and it felt incredible. Congrats on your 2:30!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

