My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

What’s Next? The Pursuit 3.0!

on October 25, 2012

Today marks the beginning of “The Pursuit 3.0”. My original Pursuit was my training for the Toronto Women’s Half Marathon in May. The Pursuit 2.0 was my training for the Niagara Falls Half Marathon last weekend. Now I need to figure out what The Pursuit 3.0 will be.

I think that I have improved my running significantly since I started up again this past March. But training for two half marathons hasn’t left time for much else fitness-wise, and the past few months have been terrible food-wise for me as well.

So, my next pursuit is going to involve weight training and a renewed focus on eating clean.

I kicked off the Pursuit 3.0 tonight with a new Clean Eating recipe – Broccoli & White Bean Mac ‘n Cheese. This recipe is from the Fall 2012 Quick & Easy Meals edition (page 95). I’m too lazy to type out the recipe, so I just took a screen pic of the iPad with my Zinio edition of the magazine…hopefully it’s readable on screen!

20121025-233816.jpg
This was another hit recipe…mine didn’t look quite as pretty as the magazine pic since my broccoli seemed to disintegrate as I stirred in the cheese sauce, but it sure tasted great!

20121025-234939.jpg
And in true Clean Eating fashion, there was enough left over for me to take for lunch tomorrow – and that’s after serving 5 for dinner and hubs having seconds! I love leftovers!!!

Tonight was also my hockey night. We played the first place team in the league – which is full of young kids who grew up playing hockey…and they are good. So far this season they haven’t lost. Last time we played them they beat us 7-1…it was awful. Tonight, it was a different story. We played so well, and despite being down 2-0 we came back to win 4-3! It was an awesome game! I was a bit worried how my legs would feel, but it was great to be out there and I felt strong and had lots of energy.

Now, as always seems to be the case, it is late and my energy is gone! I’m pretty sure I can hear my bed calling my name!

Have you tried any new, awesome, Clean recipes?
What’s your latest pursuit?

10 responses to “What’s Next? The Pursuit 3.0!

  1. This looks great, I’ll definitely give it ago, thanks for posting it 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      It’s yummy for sure. But beware….apparently there is a difference between evaporated milk and condensed milk! and I used the wrong one…made it a little sweeter than it probably should have been. Can you tell I’m no Martha Stewart in the kitchen! LOL

      Like

  2. Looks yummy. Can’t wait to hear about your pursuit of 3.0 goals 🙂

    Like

  3. epearson says:

    Can’t wait to try this! My husband LOOOOOVES mac and cheese!

    Like

  4. Bethany says:

    I am right there with you! Now that my half marathon is done and winter is fast approaching I will be focusing on eating clean and strength training at the gym. I hope to get back to my yoga practice too. I miss yoga. Love your post!

    Like

  5. josh29152 says:

    I’ve been waiting to see your race results. We had a similar time. My time was 2:19:52. There is no way Ill round it up to 2:20. Great job on your accomplishment. I am running another in 17 days. Keep your fingers crossed for me. I am hoping to increase my time but I have not done much speed work.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Good job running another half so soon. I haven’t run once since my half. In a way I miss it but in a way I don’t. I think the crappy weather we have been having isn’t helping my desire to run. If the sun ever comes out again, maybe I’ll get out for 5k to see if my legs remember how to run!
      You’re time was awesome, you got me by 10 mins and 3 seconds! Good luck in the next one. Looking forward to reading all about it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

