My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on October 26, 2012

This week just flew by…having Monday off for a little family vacation day sure helped!  Here are this week’s Friday Five!

friday-five2

1.  I just learned that Evaporated Milk and Sweetened Condensed Milk are NOT the same thing!  Click here for a nice summary of the differences.
milks

In my recipe that I made for dinner last night, I used Sweetened Condensed Milk, since that’s what I had on hand and didn’t realize there was a difference.  Dinner was still quite good, but I’m guessing it will taste completely different if I actually use Evaporated Milk next time!  I’ve got another recipe that I absolutely love, Eat Clean Ham, Cheese & Broccoli Casserole I’m pretty sure that my mistake of using condensed milk instead of evaporated milk is what puts it over the edge.  I’m going to keep making it the wrong way because it’s just too good to risk it!  LOL

2.  I think I’ve recovered from the Half Marathon.  I’m still basking in the glory of my 2:29:55 finish.  I refuse to call it 2:30, because 2:29 just sounds so much faster Smile.  I keep checking the race website for the race photos.  I’m dying to see the look on my face as I cross the line.  I’m sure it won’t be pretty…but will show how hard I was working to get that 2:29!  I think this might be one of the best looking race medals I’ve gotten so far.
NFIM medal 2

I’ve still got a pain in my left hip that I feel every time I step with my left foot, and I have a feeling it will be here for a while.  Last time I got this pain, it took almost 4 years to go away.  I think this time I will actually mention it to my doctor when I go for my physical in December!

3.  I’ve signed up for a 2 week challenge through Mamavation, with Bob Harper of Biggest Loser fame.  I have no idea what’s really involved, but I’m looking forward to it.  I have to record my starting measurements for weight, waist, hips and thighs.  At the end of the 2 weeks I retake these same measurements and see how they compare.  Workouts will be posted daily on  www.bobharper.com 
trainer bob

I’ve been poking around the website to see what I’m in for.  From what I can tell, each day there will be an assigned task/exercise.  I am to do the task/exercise and then tweet about it using a few specific hashtags in order to be eligible from the prizes.  I think the accountability will be good for me, since we all know I can be a tad on the lazy-ass side of things!  I’ll let you know how it goes once things get started.

4.  Bon Jovi is coming back to Toronto….and I will be there!!!  I absolutely LOVE Bon Jovi, and so does my sister and our friends Jo and Trish (who also happen to be sisters).  We have gone together to see Bon Jovi every time he has come to town for probably the last 5 or 6 concerts.  We have such a great time.  This year, our other friend Erin had access to early tickets since she has Leafs season tickets (a lot of good those are doing her for hockey this year….but awesome for the JBJ pre-sale!!).  She got us tickets this morning and has decided to come with us to the show.  She has no idea what she is getting herself into.  We tend to go a bit nuts at these concerts, screaming, singing, and yelling for JBJ to take off his shirt!  The concert is Feb 17…only 113 more days!!!
JBJ feb 2013

5.  Seriously, isn’t he delicious!
bon jovi versace add

Happy Friday, everyone!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

