My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Cooking with Fire!

on October 28, 2012

It’s been a week since the half marathon and I haven’t run a step…..and I’m okay with that.  Hopefully I will get out once or twice a week starting soon.  For now, I’m not too worried about it.

This past week I’ve been trying to do better with my Clean Eating.  I did pretty well with my dinners, which gave me a few leftover lunches for work, but I need to do a better job with my snacking.  I’ve eaten WAY too many mini chocolate bars that we’ve got in the office for snacks.

Meals that I made this week were all from the Fall issue of Clean Eating magazines Quick & Easy Meals.  I made 4 different meals, and they were all delicious and easy to prepare.

Thursday:  Broccoli & White Bean Mac ‘n’ Cheese:  Delicious, even though I used condensed milk instead of evaporated milk!  Lesson learned.

mac n cheese

Friday:  I made 2 different dishes Friday night, since I had time and could get ahead of the game.  One dish was Curried Chicken with Apples & Pears.  This really was a quick and yummy dinner.  It took longer for the rice to cook than it did to prepare the main dish!.

chicken apple pear curry

The second dish I made Friday night was Curried Chicken & Cauliflower Soup.  This was super easy to make..chop a few things, sauté up some chicken, add broth, veggies and let it simmer.  I tried it today for lunch.  Really good, but don’t forget the dollop of Greek Yogurt.  As hubs and I were eating I kept thinking that it needed something…then we checked the recipe and saw the Greek yogurt.  We added a spoonful and it just gave it a little bit of zip and tang and turned it from okay to really good.  I’ve got enough left for lunched for most of the week!  Here’s how it looks before the yogurt goes on.

cauliflower curry soup
Sunday:  Tonight I made Pork Chops with Butternut Apple Mash.  This was another quick and easy recipe, so the special issue of Clean Eating seems to quite properly named!  For this recipe, peeling and chopping the squash was the toughest part of this recipe.  Once the squash is peeled and chopped, it is boiled until tender, with a couple of apples tossed in during the last few minutes.  This combination gets mashed with some nutmeg, freshly grated ginger, and a bit of butter for creaminess.  The pork chops are cooked in a bit of olive oil under no longer pink, then removed to a plate and tented with foil.  Add 1/2 cup of apple cider and a tbsp of pure maple syrup to the pan and simmer until it thickens a bit.  Add a dollop of butter and whisk until incorporated.  Top the pork chops with some of the sauce and serve along side some of the squash.  Deliciousness…and the kids asked for seconds, so you know it’s good!
pork chop squash mash

Now to the “fire” part of the blog.  We had a bunch of wood delivered yesterday.  Today was stacking day…and of course, it was cold and rainy while we stacked it.  It was a fairly quick job since we had the kids helping us, plus friends from around the corner came over to help as well.  Before we knew it, we had a pretty good looking wood pile and a lovely fire burning in the fireplace.

fire wood Given the crazy weather we are expecting for the next few days due to Hurricane Sandy and the “Frankenstorm” they are talking about, we may be having a few fires as we try to take the chill off.

Tomorrow I start my 2 week Mamavation Bob Harper Workout Challenge.  I’m looking forward to seeing what Bob has in store for me for the next two weeks.  It’s been quite a while since I did any strength training, so I’m sure I will feel it.  I will let you know how day 1 goes tomorrow!

For now, it’s once again very late and I need to go to bed.  When am I going to learn?

Have you made any great clean recipes?
Anyone else taking part in the 2 week challenge?

Leave a Reply

