My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Day 1 of the Mamavation Challenge

on October 29, 2012

Today is the first day of Mamavation’s 11th Challenge Campaign.  For 2 weeks, I will be following workouts posted by Bob Harper (yah, that Bob Harper…from the Biggest Loser) on his BobHarper.com website. 

Today’s workout was “Lower Body and Power 1”.  This was a 15 minute circuit, with a warm up and cool down, that totally got my blood pumping and the sweat flowing!  I was actually surprised at how much of a workout it was.  I really didn’t expect to be dripping with sweat before I even finished. 

The leg workout had different varieties of squats, lunges, and dead lifts.  I think my favourite part might have been the stretching cool down.  So many great stretches that I probably should have been doing when I was running.  They all felt so good!

I had a little help and cheering section while I did my workout.  My cat Crosby was close by the whole time making sure I stuck to the program and didn’t slack off. 

crosby workout cheerleader
I have no idea what I’m in store for tomorrow…but I’m looking forward to finding out!

Today was a brutal day food-wise for me.  I had my usual whole wheat bagel and light cream cheese for breakfast once I got to the office.  I had a meeting at 11 that was supposed to take maybe an hour, but it ended up taking 3 hours!  This made going out for lunch as was initially planned not possible.  I was back to the office to get some work done, where I ate another bagel, since I didn’t bring lunch today as I was supposed to be going out for lunch with my colleagues.  Dinner tonight was a post-workout smoothie.  It was really good and quite healthy, with Greek yogurt, skim milk, frozen blueberries, flax seed, hemp seeds, some chia, vanilla protein powder and banana, but it wasn’t all that filling since I shared with hubby and the kids.  Hubs was a bit hungry later too, and we ended up having some popcorn as a snack.  So, overall, it was a bit of a carb heavy day.  Not the greatest.  Tomorrow I will bring one of my leftover clean meals for lunch and hopefully get back on track.

I have to say I’m pretty happy with my decision to focus on diet and weights for the next little while…especially given the insane weather we are having due to Hurricane Sandy.  It is super windy and very rainy and really not very good weather to run outside.  I think if Bob has any cardio as part of his workouts, I will be hitting the treadmill in the basement this week, rather than braving the crazy elements outdoors. 

Are you trying a new fitness regime?  How’s it going so far?

Leave a Reply

