My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Totally Random Tuesday

on October 30, 2012

For lack of a better blog title, I have resurrected Totally Random Tuesdays.

Here are some random things about my day:

1.  Sticking to a clean food diet is proving to be a challenge.  Today I did okay for breakfast (whole wheat bagel and light cream cheese – probably not the greatest, but could be a lot worse) and lunch (leftover chicken curry with apples and pears and some butternut apple mash).  Dinner was another story.  I left work a bit late, which got me home late, which is never a good thing.  My oldest wanted Subway for dinner, and I was reluctant to agree…but then he phoned his dad, who didn’t hesitate to say okay.  Hubs stopped on the way home and picked up subs for everyone.  I had a 6 inch meatball on whole wheat with green peppers and hot peppers.  According to MFP, that’s about 530 calories with 23g of fat!!!  Yikes.  I need to get back to planning my weekly menu and shopping to be sure I have everything I need for those recipes. 

2.  Today was Day 2 of the Mamavation 2 week challenge.  I was quite surprised at how much I felt yesterday’s lower body workout.  I think my hamstrings and butt hurt more today after that workout than they did last week after my half marathon.  That just goes to show me that weight training is a much different workout than running.  Today’s workout was “Quick Core & Upper Body”.  Once again, I was jumping around in my bedroom getting my sweat on.  And once again, I was surprised at how sweaty I got doing this workout. And once again, I had a cheering section while I did the workout.  Tonight it was my other cat, Ovie, who was there for moral support. He was quite intrigued with the “how to” videos for the various exercises.
 ovie little helperI had to watch the video to the Tabletop Toe-Touches a couple of times.  That was one crazy exercise move.  It was a true test of my coordination.  I’m quite positive I looked nothing like the girl in the demo video. She looked steady and in control the whole time.  I felt unstable and pretty much ready to tip over just about every toe-touch!  I did get better each set and almost felt like I got the hang of it for the last set. Overall, it was another great workout and I’m looking forward to seeing what’s in store for me tomorrow. 

3.  I’m earning my treats.  My sister found this fun Halloween Challenge:

Halloween-Challenge31 Basically, anytime you eat a Halloween treat, you do 10 burpees.  Yesterday I had a mini Mr Big just before I read about the challenge…but I still did 10 burpees when I got home from work.  Today, I managed to not eat any Halloween treats.  I was too busy at work and just didn’t get a chance…and I didn’t get a chance tonight either..plus hubs just brought new boxes of treats home tonight, since he and the kids had already eaten the other candy he bought.  I did do 36 burpees as part of my workout tonight (3 sets of 12)…and I hate them!!!  Having to do 10 burpees for every treat I eat might be a good deterrent.  Tomorrow night will be the true test as I stay home and hand out treats while the kids go out Trick or Treating.  In past years, I have snacked constantly while I wait for the kiddies to ring the doorbell.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I had to do 100 burpees tomorrow before I go to bed…ugh…I have no self control!

How many burpees did you need to do today? 
How many do you think you will have to do tomorrow?

2 responses to “Totally Random Tuesday

  1. j! ayson says:

    On my drive into work today I was thinking about all the temptation and all the halloween treats that would be at the office. Today I’m hoping I can fight off any temptation and stay away from those little treats, because if I have one.. I’m not sure I could stop! hehe..
    Happy Halloween!!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      If I get away with only having to do 100 burpees today I will consider it a huge success. Those little chocolate bars are the devil! Have a spooktacular day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

