My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Lazy Saturday

on November 3, 2012

Today was the most relaxed Saturday I’ve had in a long time.  Other than 2 visits to the rink for one hockey game and one practice and my Mamavation Bob Harper workout, I had absolutely nothing that really had to get done today.  It was awesome!

My day started with a bit of a sleep in (YAY!) and then it was off to the rink for kid #2’s hockey game.  I grabbed 2 pieces of my Dark Chocolate Date Bars to go, which made me 3/3 on my goal of a clean breakfast every day in November.  I will definitely be making these again…they  are freakin’ AMAZING! 

After the game (a win!!) we were going to the mall to look at some hockey gear for junior, and I took a side trip to Sears to look at food processors.  There were a few pretty impressive machines on the shelf.  They aren’t the cheapest things ever, so I will be doing a bit of research before I make a purchase.  I remember reading something that Tosca Reno posted either on her blog or twitter about her getting a food processor as a gift.  I can’t seem to find that reference but I’m dying to know what kind of food processor she has…I’m pretty sure it’s a good one! 

After a quick stop at home, it was off to another rink for kid #1’s hockey practice.  This made lunch a challenge, so I grabbed another piece of my date bar and was out the door.  I definitely need to hit the grocery store!

When I got home from the rink, it was time for today’s Bob Harper Workout of the Day.  Today’s workout was a “4 Minute Workout” video that I followed along with while Bob lead us through.  Today we did four 1 minute circuits of different exercises, followed by 2 burpees.  First it was 25 air squats and 2 burpees in 1 minute, with whatever time was left in that minute to rest before the next minute.  This was HARD!  By the end my quads were burning so badly, I could hardly get through the 25 squats in the minute, let alone get the burpees in! 
air squat

After the squats, the next 4 minutes were 40 jumping jacks and 2 burpees per minute.  I was better at this one, and did get all the jacks and burpees done within the minute, but I was sure breathing hard and starting to get my sweat on. 
jumping jacks

The last and toughest exercise was 20 tricep dips and 2 burpees per minute.  These were 4 killer minutes.  Each round my legs got closer and closer to my butt.  The last set of burpees my arms almost gave out when I dropped down! 
tricep dips

The workout finished up with 20 clapping pushups.  I could hardly do a pushup let alone clap.  I took full advantage of the modification that Bob showed – doing the pushups on my knees with my hand quite close to me to put me almost in a table top position.  These were doable, but still challenging. 
clapping pushups

I was very glad when this workout was over.  It was actually quite quick to get through, taking maybe 25 minutes with the warm up and some stretching at the end, but it sure got my heart rate up.  I’m loving these workouts.  I think tomorrow will be a rest day, but I won’t know for sure until I sign in and see what’s in the “What’s Happening Today” section of the website. 

Tonight hubs and I went out on a date!  While we were watching kid 1’s hockey game, he asked me if I’d like to go out for dinner with him.  He’s so romantic!  We went to an Asian Fusion place in Aurora. 
annalisaI’d never heard of it before, but I will definitely be going back again.  The food was really good, the atmosphere was nice (it wasn’t busy at all), and the price was right ($60+tip for 2 drinks, 2 appetizers, and 2 dinner combos – 1 Thai and 1 Japanese). 

After dinner it was home to build a fire (I love having a working fireplace in our family room) and watch a movie.  We watch “The Campaign” with Will Ferrell and Zack Galifianakis.  It was pretty funny and light, and perfect to watch while I worked on my blog.

Now, I’m going take advantage of the clocks turning back an hour and try to stay up and watch Saturday Night Live.  Even if I manage to stay awake until the end, with the time change I will still get a bit of a sleep in tomorrow.  We don’t have to leave for hockey until 10am tomorrow (which will feel like 11am).  I doubt I will be able to sleep in as long as I could, but even an extra hour will be great. 

How was your Saturday.  Was it lazy, or action packed?

2 responses to “Lazy Saturday

  1. j! ayson says:

    Saturday was pretty lazy, took the kids out for lunch while hubby played basketball, then just did some grocery shopping and worked a bit 😦
    Those workouts sounds awesome! I love that they’re short but intense!

    Like

Leave a Reply

