My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Goodbye Weekend

on November 4, 2012

The weekend is almost over. It’s been a pretty good weekend, and despite having nothing to do, I got quite a bit done! 

Today was a rest day in the Mamavation Bob Harper Challenge.  This was a good thing, since my arms and shoulders are pretty achy from yesterday’s video workout, and my legs finally don’t hurt anymore from last Monday’s leg day.  I’m both excited and nervous to see what’s on tap for tomorrow.  It will be some kind of circuit, and I’m sure it will get my heart rate pumping and the sweat flowing.  I’m really enjoying this challenge and the Bob Harper workouts.  I’m considering signing up for the Bob Harper program after the challenge is over.  At only $9.95 a month, it seems like a pretty good deal.  I think the challenge only got us 2 weeks of free access to Bob’s site. so I’ll see how I feel this time next week and make my decision then.

I did some research into food processors.  I remember reading that Tosco Reno (the Queen of Clean Eating) got a food processor for Mother’s Day this year.  I figure if a food processor is good enough for her, it should be good enough for me!  I finally found the reference to the food processor on her Facebook page.  It’s is a Cuisinart Elite Collection 12 cup Food Processor. 

cuisinart elite 12 cupThey sell them at Sears, Home Outfitters, Kitchen Stuff Plus, and Canadian Tire also has them.  They are not the same price everywhere.  Unfortunately Sears is the most expensive, but that is where I have about $600 of free money to use, through my Sears Points.  So, even though it’s a little bit more there, that’s likely where I will get it since it will be free when I use my points.  I will try to go over to Sears at lunch one day this week and see if I can find out when they will be on sale, and if it’s close, wait until then to make my purchase.  I’m pretty sure I can get by for a few more weeks or a month without a new food processor. 

Today I planned out my menu for the week and then hit the grocery store to get all the needed items for a week of clean eating.

weekly menu and grocery list On the menu this week (all recipes from Clean Eating Magazine):

  • Hashbrown, Sausage & Egg Muffins (Nov/Dec p40)
  • African Peanut Stew (Nov/Dec p93)
  • Corn Bread Topped Beef & Black Bean Chili (Nov/Dec p62)
  • Stuffed Acorn Squash (Apr/May p41)
  • Mulligatawny Soup (Apr/May p54)

The Hashbrown,Sausage & Egg Muffins look great and will be good as a quick grab in the morning for taking to work for a clean breakfast…which is one of my November goals.  I was hoping to make them tonight, but just didn’t quite get to it, so hopefully I will get to them tomorrow.

For dinner tonight, I made the African Peanut Stew.  This was a relatively easy recipe to follow…just a bit of chopping.  Onions, sweet potatoes, chopped tomatoes, and Swiss Chard are the main ingredients of the soup.  Vegetable broth provides the liquid and peanut butter, curry, ginger, garlic,and jalapenos give it the amazing flavour.  The house smelled amazing when it was cooking. As good as the house smelled, the stew tasted even better.  This was yet another hit recipe. 

african peanut stewIn true Clean Eating fashion, this dish had LOTS of leftovers.  I’ve got 7 (yes, 7!!!) meals all set to take to work for lunch or ready for a quick meal on a hectic night.
african stew leftovers  
For November, I’m taking part in a Fit Photo-A-Day challenge hosted by Sarah of Ingredients Of  A Fit Chick and Aundra of Chestertown Fit For Life.  I’ve been having a bit of fun with it, and using Instagram for the first time. I’m still trying to figure that whole thing out.  Today’s photo word is “mat”.  So, when I sign off from here I will be heading up to take a picture of my yoga mat. Since starting my Bob Harper workouts, that yoga mat is finally getting some use when I do my stretches after my workout, rather than being rolled up and just sitting in the corner of my bedroom.

Well…another weekend is over.  It’s too bad they aren’t longer.  Oh well, 5 short days and we will once again be in weekend mode!

Did you try any new recipes this weekend? 
Whatever you did this weekend, I hope your weekend was a good one.
Here’s to a great week ahead!

5 responses to “Goodbye Weekend

  1. dorseyml says:

    You have inspired me to buy more tupperware! lol…I read Tosca Reno’s book, The Eat Clean Diet, and remember her saying to prepare your meals for the week. I love this idea. It saves money. Helps you eat clean. Helps with portion control- the smaller the container, the smaller the portion.

    Like

  2. MikeW says:

    Go juicers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

