My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Food, food, food!

on November 5, 2012

Normally, I am not a big fan of Mondays. It’s back to work, back to being rushed in the morning and after work, and just trying to fit everything in. Today, however, was a FANTASTIC Monday!

I had a great day food wise. I was 3 for 3 on clean eating. I had a clean breakfast of Chocolate Date Bars – so yummy! Lunch was leftover African Peanut Stew – absolutely delicious! Dinner was another new Clean Eating magazine recipe – Corn Bread topped Beef & Black Bean Chili.

This was a fun recipe. Basically you make the chili, and then you drop the corn bread batter on top of the chili and bake it in the oven. This was another delicious recipe…and produced 4 more leftover meals. I love clean cooking!!!

20121105-225903.jpg

One other bonus about this recipe, while the corn bread was cooking, I had 35 minutes. This was just enough time to squeeze in today’s Mamavation Bob Harper workout. Today’s workout was a brief warm up, then 9 different moves for one minute, as many reps as possible, and a cool down. The AMRAP minutes included squats, punches, dead lifts, burpees, upright rows, reverse flies, and a few more things that I can’t remember right now. When I saw this on the schedule for today, I thought 9 minutes no problem. Well, let me tell you they were 9 tough minutes! Once again, I got my heart rate up and was dripping with sweat at the end of the workout…and I finished up just as the timer on the stove went off to top the corn bread with some cheddar!

After I packed away the 4 leftover meals, I figured I would make my Clean breakfasts that I had on my meal plan for the week. So, I got out my grater, shredded some potatoes, whisked up some eggs, grated some Swiss cheese, sautéed up some turkey sausage, and voila! Clean breakfast for the week!

20121105-225800.jpg

Although all of those meals are awesome, the best part of my Monday was that I got an iPhone 5! Check out this beauty!

20121105-230527.jpg
Ignore the protective plastic that is still on it, this pic was taken when I first got it. I haven’t had a chance yet to get it fully set up yet. I’ve got my email on it, but it needs an iOS update and then I need to sync with iTunes and get my music and contacts loaded onto it. I also need to hit the App Store and load this bad boy up with all the things that make iPhone so cool!

After such a great Monday, I’m excited to see how Tuesday measures up!

How was your Monday?
Got any suggestions for cool iPhone apps?

9 responses to “Food, food, food!

  1. thewickedpixie says:

    ohhhh please more detail on the breakfast cups!
    That looks like a perfect idea!

    Like

  2. Wow you are on a roll :)!! I will have to check out Clean Eating Magazine. I love leftovers….makes life so easy. Oooooo iPhones are great! I love mine 🙂 enjoy!

    Like

  3. iPhone5?!! I’m SO JEALOUS!!!! And the food looks really good. Kudos to you for eating so well!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’m getting used to the iPhone5. I do love it! I’ve fallen off the wagon food wise a bit…had a girls weekend and did not eat well at all. Getting back on track tomorrow!

      Like

  4. […] from BlackBerry to iPhone.  Here’s my extremely brief post from the day I got it – November 5, 2012.  Wow…I can’t believe it’s been almost 3 years!  Time flies. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

