My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

What a Workout Wednesday!

on November 7, 2012

Happy Hump Day! The weekend is getting closer!

Today was another good day goal-wise for me. 

Food
Breakfast was slow cooker oatmeal that I got from my sister on a leftover trade.  She dropped off 2 oatmeal breakfasts and took a serving corn bread beef & black bean chili and a serving of the African Peanut Stew.  The slow cooker oatmeal was very tasty and filling, keeping me satisfied right until lunch time.  Which was good, because my morning at work was back to back to back conference calls that took me right through until 12:30, by which time I was very ready for lunch.

Lunch was leftover African Peanut Stew again.  I’ve had this every day for lunch this week, and once for dinner.  Good thing it tastes so good. I think I’ve got one more meal in the fridge, which I’ll take for lunch tomorrow. 

Dinner wasn’t ideal, but could have been worse.  I got home late from work and headed right upstairs to get my workout in (more on that below).  Hubs got home just as I was finishing up and wanted to go over to Best Buy to pick up something.  He suggested we grab a bite to eat at one of the restaurants in the plaza near Best Buy.  My little guy was with us and he wanted Extreme Pita.  I had a Buffalo Chicken pita. According to the nutritional info their website, this worked out to be about 575 calories, 18g of fat, and 12.5g fibre.  So, not too bad, all things considered. 

This means I’ve met my goal for clean breakfasts every day and I haven’t gone out for lunch at work since making my “only one lunch our a week” goal.  It’s taking some effort and some planning, but so far, so good goal-wise.

get to work 
Workout: Today was a Bob Harper Live workout day.  This means Bob posts a video and we follow along at home.  Today was a 10-1 workout.  This means you do each of the exercises in the circuit for 10 reps, then repeat the circuit doing 9 reps, then 8 reps, and so on down to a final circuit of 1 rep per exercise.  I took a sneak peak at the workout today over lunch, and from the bit I watched, I could tell it was going to be a killer workout.  Bob said that if it was our first time doing this workout we could modify it to 10-8-6-4-2 instead, or even 5-4-3-2-1.  I did modify it a bit, since after the first round I could hardly catch my breath.  I did a combination the modifications.  I did 10-8-6-4-3-2-1.  By the end of it, I was once again dripping with sweat.  I am amazed at how great of a workout you can get in only 15-20 minutes.  Bob sure knows how to create a workout. I am totally loving them.  I’m pretty sure that when my free subscription with the Mamavation challenge runs out, I’m going to sign up to keep access to the site. 
bob harper screenshot 
I’m not sure if you know or not, but I’m on Twitter.  I’m not huge on it, like some of the other bloggers that I follow, but I make a few tweets here and there and I’m having fun following people.  As part of the Mamavation challenge, we have to tweet that we’ve completed our workout each day.  We need to tweet it to the organizer of the challenge @MrBookieboo and use the hashtags #Mamavation and #BobHarperLIVE.  For tweets that relate to the challenge I’ve also been including @MyTrainerBob which is Bob Harper’s twitter account. 

Today I tweeted a couple of things about the challenge:  First that it looked killer, and second that it WAS killer.  And guess who commented back, and retweeted my tweet?  Bob Harper himself!  Being relatively new to this whole crazy “twitterverse” I think that’s pretty darn cool!

retweet 
How are you doing with your goals for November?
Are you on Twitter?  Who are you following?

Leave a Reply

