My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

New Things

on November 11, 2012

Today was a day of new things.

I had to go to the mall to pick up a few things today, and went through Sears on my way into the mall. As I was passing the small kitchen appliance section, I noticed that the food processor I wanted was on sale for 20% off. I went and did the rest of my shopping and when I went back through Sears it seemed like it was just too good of a deal to pass up. So, I bought it!

20121110-234131.jpg
Now I need to find a recipe that needs everything chopped!

While I was picking up the food processor, hubs was checking out the toasters. Apparently he’s not a fan of our toaster oven. Did you know that there are toasters out there that cost $179! Seriously…it’s a toaster! I refused to pay that much for a toaster. In the end, he found a Frigidaire 4 slice toaster that has a special setting for bagels.

20121110-235553.jpg
This was also 20% off, so ended up being $89, which still seems like a ridiculous price for a toaster.

The best thing about my trip to Sears, was these both ended up being free. We cashed in some of our Sears points, so in the end, it didn’t cost us a penny! And that is awesome!

While small kitchen appliances are quite exciting, the best new thing of the day, hands down, was our visit with my new little nephew Ashton.

20121111-000401.jpg
He is the cutest little thing, and after an early entrance to the world (he was 8 weeks early), he is doing very well, and gaining weight like crazy. Today was his 1 month birthday. He just came home from the hospital last weekend. He slept for much of our visit, but still looked absolutely adorable…wouldn’t you agree?

20121111-001200.jpg

Today was the last day of the Mamavation Bob Harper workout challenge. We did a CrossFit workout called Karen. Apparently Karen is 150 Wall Balls. I don’t have medicine ball, so I modified by using a dumbbell and pushing it overhead instead of throwing the ball up. It was probably easier the way I did it, but 150 squats with the overhead dumbbell push was still a good challenge. I’m pretty sure I will be feeling it tomorrow. Speaking of tomorrow, it will be a rest day, and then I think I will sign up with BobHarper.com and continue these quick but intense workouts. I need to remember to take my “after” measurements. I think I will do them Monday morning, since I took my first measurements on Monday 2 weeks ago. I’m interested to see if there are any changes. I’ll let you know.

How was your Saturday?
Did you do anything “new”?

2 responses to “New Things

  1. Jill says:

    You food processor will save you HOURS in the kitchen. I use mine for everything. And free!? Awesome. Your nephew is ADORABLE!!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet…but I’ve got ingredients to my cauliflower fried rice that chops and shreds all sorts of things! I can’t wait. Is it wrong to be so excited about a kitchen appliance? LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

