My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Uninspired

on November 11, 2012

Here we are at another Sunday night, meaning another weekend is over.  😦

I’m feeling very uninspired to write my blog tonight, so this may be short and sweet, or could turn into a real post as I start writing…who knows!

Today we submitted our measurements for the Mamavation Bob Harper Challenge.  I lost 4.2 lbs, 1.5 inches off my waist, and 0.5 off each thigh. I’d say that is a pretty good result for 2 weeks of workouts.  I think it also helped significantly that I really focused on my eating these past 2 weeks as well.  I’ve been eating a clean breakfast every day, bringing clean lunches to work, and for the most part had clean dinners as well.  I know for me, food is a HUGE factor when I am trying to lose weight.  So a couple of good food weeks, plus 2 great weeks of Bob Harper workouts, and I’ve had some good progress.  I think I am going to sign up for Bob’s website and keep up with the workouts.  They are quick, fun, and effective.  What more could I ask for?

I’ve got a busy week coming up.  I’ve got meals planned out for the week, but I’m out Monday and Tuesday, so I won’t be cooking until Wednesday.  Hopefully I can scrounge up a couple of clean breakfasts and lunches to get me through the next few days until I get some clean leftovers. 

Sorry for the boring post.  I’m just not feeling it tonight.  I’ll try to do better tomorrow.

tomorrow is another day

4 responses to “Uninspired

  1. MikeW says:

    Good for you in logging progress and for a reflective, honest post.

    Re: permanent weight loss, recently a buddy recommended a book called “Wheat Belly” and I blogged about it a month or so ago. It’s by a cardiologist who is pretty convinced that a protein by-product of high yield engineered wheat seeds is an opiate that docks with our dopamine receptors, causing us to want to eat more and more without understanding why.

    We’ve been trying to gradually reduce wheat intake and increase alternative grains, crusts, breads and cereals. He claims that when people get off of the staple engineered wheat that people are losing lots of weight without trying, at 30, 60 and 80 pounds as they continue on with rice, amaranth, quinoa and more. Together with eliminating refined sugars and getting to bed early, this dietary change may hold promise. If you read the book let me know what you think.

    It is amazing to look inside the pantry and see just how many foods contain this wheat product.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’ve downloaded the book as a mp3 file from my library. will try to listen to it on my drive to and from work. sounds interesting, for sure. thx

      Like

      • MikeW says:

        Let’s compare notes over time. I’ve felt a difference after eating rice based pasta and cereals and less wheat. I felt less intensity of appetite in subsequent meals. Pastas made with other grains can be found in organic and health conscious grocery stores.

        Like

      • cathyo says:

        I did a no wheat diet for a month as paet of a natural cleanse a few years ago and so i ate spelt and kamut breads and pastas. Really enjoyed the kamut.

        Like

Leave a Reply

