My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Kicking Off the Week

on November 12, 2012

Today was a long day. I was out the door at 7:20am to carpool to school. I was at work from 8:30am until about 7pm, then off to a Parent Council meeting at my son’s school from 7:15-8:30. I was home around 9pm, tucked the kids into bed, did a Bob Harper workout, showered up, and hit the couch for a bit if TV.

I was supposed to write my blog while I was watching my show, but that just didn’t happen. Now it’s late (story of my life, I know!) and this will be quick.

Today’s workout was another quick but intense session. I am loving that no matter what my day is like, I am able to squeeze the workouts into my day. The workout today was “Quick Core and Legs”. After a warm up, there were squat jacks, reverse lunges with kicks, planks, mountain climbers and a couple of other exercises. After I finished, I was a sweaty mess. It still amazes me how these quick workouts get my heart rate up and the sweat pouring. I love it!

20121112-230326.jpg

I’ve got another busy day ahead of me tomorrow…but there are two things that will help make it a good day.
1. I am having a massage after work. This will be my first massage since starting my workout routine. I can’t wait. My muscles are achy and I know my massage therapist will help work out the kinks.
2. I’m going for a little dinner party tomorrow for a friend’s birthday. It will be a nice night, and I don’t have to cook…bonus!

I do want to cook on Wednesday though. Not making dinners is impacting my lunches. I made a goal to only go out for lunch at work once a week. I didn’t go out at all in the last 2 weeks, but I had to go out today since I didn’t have any leftovers. Seriously, leftovers ROCK!!! I will have to get creative, since I still don’t have any leftovers, and to keep my goals, I can’t go out for lunch again. Maybe I’ll take a few eggs to scramble up and microwave at lunch. Wish me luck!

Hopefully Wednesday night I will get to use my new food processor. I’m dying to try it out. I think I will make some Cauliflower Fried Rice and some more hash brown, sausage and egg muffins so I will have some good breakfasts. If I have time, I’d also like to make some more dark cocoa date squares. Once I do get cooking, I’m going to eat well. Plus all of these recipes will make good use of my new food processor. Can’t wait!

How was your Monday? Was it as hectic as mine?

2 responses to “Kicking Off the Week

  1. mommymagpie says:

    Leftovers do rock. They are little pots of gold waiting for you in the fridge when you get home after a long hard day, in dire need of sustenance.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’ve got a fridge full of them now! 4 or 5 lunches worth of cauliflower fried “rice” and a dozen hash brown, sausage and egg muffins for breakfasts. Can’t wait to go to work tomorrow so I can eat them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

