My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Heart My Cuisinart

on November 14, 2012

I’ve had a busy couple of days, and actually missed my post yesterday. It’s been a while since that’s happened. Oh we’ll…moving onward…

Today I finally got a chance to use my new Cuisinart food processor. It is amazing! It’s a bit sad how excited I was to shred a head of cauliflower and some carrots. It turned a messy, pain I the butt task into a quick and easy, slick minute flat. I made Cauliflower Fried Rice and it was delicious! And best of all, there was actually more left than we ate, so I’ve got lunches for a few days and maybe even a family dinner in the fridge.

20121114-230534.jpg

I had so much fun using my Cuisinart, that after dinner, I washed it up and got it ready to go again. I shredded up some potatoes for some Clean Eating Hash brown, sausage &egg muffins. These little guys are amazing and perfect to grab and take to work for a quick and delicious breakfast.

20121114-231507.jpg

After my cooking spree, I changed into my workout gear and got my Bob Harper work out of the day in. Today was another 1 minute workout. A set number of reps of 4 different exercise done within a minute, and however much is left of your minute is the amount of rest time you get before moving to the next exercise. The whole circuit was done 3 times. So with a bit of a warm up and cool down, the whole workout was done in about 15 minutes. I really didn’t feel much like working out after I finished cleaning the kitchen after my cook-fest, but when it only takes 15 minutes, it’s hard to say you don’t have time.

At the beginning of November I set some goals for the month. Since we are just about half way through the month, I thought I would check in and see how I’m doing. I had three goals:
1. Eat a clean breakfast every day. I am doing very well with this one. I am 14/14. Some days it was tougher than others, if I didn’t have anything planned, but a quick bowl of oatmeal was my clean go to on those hectic mornings.
2. Only go out for lunch one day a week at work. I am doing very well with this one as well. For the first two weeks I brought my lunch every day. This past Monday I didn’t have anything at home I could take for lunch, so I did go out. So one lunch out of 14… That’s pretty good for me, since before setting my goal I was going out just about every day.
3. Do some form of physical activity 5 days a week. I am actually doing better than my goal on this one. I’m following the Bob Harper program, and he gives Thursday and Sunday as rest days. Thursday night is my hockey night, so that’s not a day off for me. So far I have been getting exercise 6 out of 7 days a week. I think the fact that Bob’s workouts are so quick, it makes it super easy to work into my hectic schedule. And that is awesome! I’m confident that I can keep this up for the rest of the month.

Now, on a completely different note…I think I’m becoming addicted to Instagram. I’ve downloaded a bunch of free apps that can be used with Instagram and I’m having fun trying to figure out how they all work. I really have no idea what I’m doing, but I’m having fun. Here’s one of my pics that I made the other day for my #fitphotoaday11 challenge that I’m taking part in with Sara at Ingredients of a Fit Chick. The theme of the day was #health. Here’s what I did:

20121114-235102.jpg
I’m sure there is still so much for me to figure out, but I’m having fun learning.

Are you on Instagram? Got any tips for me?

5 responses to “I Heart My Cuisinart

  1. Food processors rock! I use mine for shredding vegetables, hard cheeses, making hummus, making dough. The possibilities are endless! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jill says:

    Yay! I knew you would LOVE it. Don’t forget to use the circular wheel (grating, chopping) feature. For some reason, I didn’t appreciate that attachment at first. It makes making salads and soups a snap!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Yep. That’s the attachment I uses last night to grate the cauliflower and carrots and shredded the potatoes with the same one. It came with a DVD that I will have to watch at some point. The thing is amazing!

      Like

      • Jill says:

        Oh good. For some reason I just used the blade-thingy for a long time. But I don’t read instructions books or watch the tutorials, so it probably serves me right. 🙂 It is one of those purchases that you can’t imagine living without once you have it for awhile. Looking forward to your other chopping masterpieces.

        Like

Leave a Reply

