My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Longest Day

on November 17, 2012

Today got off to an early start.  Even though it’s Saturday and we should be enjoying a sleep in, we were up at the usual time, since Jacko had a hockey game at 8am.  Getting up early on the weekend SUCKS! 

After the game, I was home to change into my workout gear to get my Bob Harper workout session in.  Today’s workout was 3 moves:  burpees, mountain climbers, and medicine ball sit ups.   nov 17 wod

These were done in a 1-10 circuit.  This means you start with 1 burpee, 1 mountain climber and one sit up.  Then you do 2 of each, then 3 of each…all the way up to 10 of each in the last circuit.  Oh My God!  This started out and I was thinking this is nothing…but by the time I got to 5 of each, my heart rate was up and I was sweating like a mad woman.  Usually I try to keep up with the video that he does, but today I had to pause it since I was getting behind and it was just confusing me having him count to 6 when I was back at 5.  When I paused the video, I put on some tunes and I think it helped to have some good tunes played nice and loud to help drown out my insane breathing and grunting as I did my burpees and mountain climbers.  The sit ups weren’t too bad.  I don’t have a medicine ball, so I used a 10lb dumb bell instead. 

This was the first time I had seen the burpees done where you dropped down to the ground when you were out in the plank position.  It makes them even tougher, but I kind of liked them.  I could feel that I am getting stronger.  A few times I felt like I was almost doing a full push up rather then just dropping down….and that makes me happy.  It makes me think all of these workouts are really working…which makes me want to keep doing them.  These are all good things!

After my workout, Nick and I went out to test drive a car.  The 2013 Nissan Pathfinder.  This is one very nice SUV.  The 2013 Pathfinder has been totally overhauled and now looks exactly like the Infinity JX rather then a big boxy truck like the older models did. 
New-2013-Nissan-Pathfinder-SUV-side

This might very well become my new car.  I almost bought it today, but I thought Rory should at least drive it before I buy it!  Hopefully he will be able to take it for a drive on Monday night and then we can decide if we are going to get it.  We are looking for something with a little more room that our Rogue has, and this has seating for 7, which will come in handy.

After the test drive and price negotiations, I was off to the rink for the second time today for Nick’s practice.  This gave me time to play on my iPhone and iPad and get some reading done.  The hour just flew by. 

Next it was a quick stop at Shopper’s to buy some pink and purple nail polish for my 3 year old niece.  She wanted me to paint her nails for her, so I needed some little girl colours.  I also got her a flavoured lip gloss, since she loves to put lip balm on.  Such a girlie girl.  We painted her fingernails purple and her toes pink.  She loved it and insisted that I do my nails the same colour.  I’m not much into nail polish on my fingers, since my nails are always such a mess…but here they are…bright purple! 
purple nails

Once my Auntie duties were over, Nick and I grabbed some take out (he wanted Subway, and I grabbed some pizza) and then it was home for an inappropriate movie.  This is a bit of a tradition at our house.  It seems that whenever I go away for a weekend, Rory and the kids watch an inappropriate movie.  Some of these have been very inappropriate and others just slightly.  Tonight, Nick asked if we can have “Inappropriate Movie Night”.  He wanted to watch the 40 Year Old Virgin.  I had seen it when I first came out and didn’t think it would be too bad.  Other than some very bad language at times (especially during the waxing scene – which really is hilarious) it wasn’t too bad and we had a few good laughs. 

The title of this post comes from the fact that it seemed so late, but when we finished the movie it was only 8:45pm.  We were both shocked that it was so early.  We thought about watching another movie, but then he decided he’d play some XBox.  He’s got a new game (Assassin’s Creed) so he’s content running all over some old time village, searching for some dude, and killing lots of people along the way.  I totally don’t get these games.  Seems like a giant waste of time to me…but he seems to like them!

Tomorrow we get to sleep in, since hockey isn’t until 11am.  I am super pumped about that!  Plus, it’s a rest day in my workout schedule!  I’m going to take my food processor for another spin and make some more Dark Chocolate Date Bars.  It’s sad how excited I am to see how the new processor handles the dates.  I’m sure it will do a much better job than my crappy old one did. 

How was your Saturday?  Did it fly by, or was it the longest day for you too?

Leave a Reply

