My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Struggling

on November 28, 2012

This week is just not going as planned workout-wise for me.  Monday I managed to get my workout it, but yesterday and today, it didn’t happen Sad smile.

Yesterday, I was just too tired after getting home late from work.  Today, I was hoping to be able to squeeze in a quick workout, but it doesn’t seem like it is going to happen.  I left work a little late, had to make a stop on the way home, and then had about 15 minutes before my hairdresser Brittany was going to be at my house to do my hair.  Normally I go see her at a salon, but she is currently between salons, so doing “mobile” work.  She came to my house and did exactly what she normally does at the salon…but for about half the price!  Plus she gave my little guy some blonde bangs with the extra highlight stuff that was leftover when she finished my highlights.  We both love our “new do’s” ..and Jacko’s totally suits him.

new do's

After my hair appointment was finished I grabbed some dinner, since I didn’t have time to eat between when I got home and when Brittany was going to be here.  Dinner was delicious…(leftover Mediterranean Veg & White Bean Pasta…photo credit to Jackson, who snapped a shot after stealing a few bites!)

leftover med veg

Now it’s 9:30 and I have zero desire to go jump around and get sweaty.  Besides, I don’t want to wreck a good blow dry!

My plan is to get caught up a bit tomorrow.  I am going to get up early and do my Day 4 Challenge (get up 15 minutes early to meditate and reflect), and then after work get caught up with Challenge #3 – try a new workout.  This morning while I was enjoying my Starbucks Chai Latte, and reading posts on the Elf for Health Facebook page, I found two workouts posted by fellow elves that looked interesting and sound quick.  I will either be doing this one:

holiday blaster

or, one from Women’s Health magazine for a CrossFit style workout:

womens health workout

Click on the link above, or the workout summary pic to see exactly how to complete the workout.  They claim there are 4 completely different workouts that you can do with these 6 moves.

I’ve got hockey tomorrow night as well, so that will make up for missing my workout yesterday.

Hopefully I can get motivated to get back on track with my workouts.  I’m just not feeling the workout love these days.  I need to get my workout mojo back…soon.  I guess this is exactly what the Elf for Health Challenge is all about.  There are 600 people all with the same goal of surviving the holidays…I’d say that’s some serious support!

How do you get yourself back on track when you are struggling to fit it all in?

Do you have a holiday survival support system? 

4 responses to “Struggling

  1. Cassy says:

    The one thing you have to remember is working out is like a meeting with a very important person in your life. What would you give up to make this meeting happen? If you don’t go to the meeting, you could be missing an opportunity of a lifetime. 😉 You can do this! And currently I don’t really have a holiday survival support system… last year my husband was on board and we made a lot of healthy meals… this year, my husband has gotten a little lax in everything… and I am trying to be strong (mostly for myself). We shall see what happens…

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I know…one of the problems of being a mom is we always make sure we do things for everyone else, often at the sacrifice of ourselves. That’s why I liked the Bob Harper workouts since they were so quick, I could always squeeze on in…even when I didn’t want to. Hopefully i will get back into a good routine soon.

      Better give hubs a kick in the butt to get back on the healthy meal train with you! It is definitely easier when support is close by. Good luck!

      Like

  2. First – your hair looks fabulous. 🙂 Second – I can totally relate about the exercise/time management thing. This week I’ve been battling a cold, so I’ve only made it to the gym once and it’s messing with my mind!

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Haha…thanks Lisa. My hair does not look like that today! I have crazy natural curls and don’t take the time to straighten it like my hairdresser does. Lucky for me, she cuts it so it looks good straight or curly.

      I really need to get back on track with the workouts. I know it was only a couple of days, but I don’t want it to stretch out much longer. I’ve got hockey tonight and can’t wait to get a have a good skate and a good sweat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

