My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Much Better Day!

on November 30, 2012

After the first half of the week not going exactly as i was hoping, today things went exactly as planned!

I set my alarm to get up 15 minutes early so I could do my Elf Challenge:  15 minutes of meditation.  My alarm went off, and despite wanting to roll over, I woke up, and tried to get into my meditation.  I have never meditated before, so really had no idea what I was supposed to do.  Whatever it is, I’m pretty sure I didn’t do it.  Instead of calming my mind, or focussing on one thing, my mind started racing to all of the things that I had to deal with at work today.  I tried and tried to clear my mind, but it just didn’t happen.  Oh well…I will try again at another time.  I’m just happy I actually got up and did it.

The second thing on my plan today was to do yesterday’s New Workout Elf challenge before I went to hockey.  If i was smart, I would have done this before I ate, but I didn’t Sad smile  We had a quick dinner of spaghetti and then I headed up, got changed and picked a new workout to try.  In the end I went with the Women’s Health Magazine Crossfit workout:

womens health workout

Women’s Health has 4 different workouts that you can do with these moves.  I chose the total reps option.  This is where you do as many reps as possible of one exercise in a minute, and then do as many of the second, and so on all the way through to the end.  Then you take a one minute break and do it all again.  In total three sets are done, making the whole workout take only about 20 minutes.  For the total reps workout the exercises order is: 5, 6, 2, 3, 1, 4.  I’ve gotta tell you, I am loving these quick, intense workouts.  I was breathing hard and sweating like a pig.  Awesome!

After my workout I had about a half hour and then I was off to hockey.   We played much better this week, and it was another win for the Crushers!  We had a few good laughs in the dressing room as we reminisced about some of our shenanigans from our girl’s weekend up in Collingwood last weekend.  Man, we sure have a good time when we get together.

Now, I’m catching up on tonight’s Grey’s and Big Bang Theory, and trying to distract myself with a Diet Pepsi so I don’t eat crap as a snack.  I am absolutely starving, but I refuse to eat anything this late.  And yes, I know Diet Pepsi is also crap, but it’s zero calorie crap, so it’s better than the alternative right now.

I’m also thinking about what I’m going to eat tomorrow.  The Elf Challenge for tomorrow is for us to “eat a rainbow”.  This will definitely be a challenge for me since my fridge is pretty empty right now.  I think I’ve got breakfast covered with another delicious burrito (today’s was very good and I am really looking forward to having another one tomorrow!).  After that, I’ll have to get creative…or go shopping!

How was your day?  Did you get everything you planned to do done?

Guess what?  Tomorrow is FRIDAY! 

8 responses to “A Much Better Day!

  1. Cassy says:

    YAY! I am so happy to hear you are getting back on track! Congrats! =D Yesterday I really kicked butt on the exercise front! Though my eating has not been absolutely amazing as of late!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Thanks…hopefully I can keep it going! love that you “kicked butt”…keep it up! I think sometimes the food is harder because it takes more organizing and planning…at least it does for me.

      Like

  2. kepotts says:

    Happy Friday! Nice work on fitting-in the workout even at the end of a busy day! I had a pretty productive day yesterday 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      it felt good to get the workout in. I need to remember that feeling next time I think about skipping it. Aren’t productive days the best! feels so good to cross things off the list! have a good weekend.

      Like

  3. j! ayson says:

    Yay for Friday! I tried the meditation yesterday but like you as soon as I woke up my mind was racing with all the things I had to do for the day.
    I’ll definitely need to pick up some food for the “east a rainbow” elf challenge.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      from what I read on the Elf page it seems like the busy mind was a pretty common thing for many of us. my meditation was a fail, but it did point out to me that it might be something that I should try again and work into my routine…my life is a complete zoo, so maybe a few minutes of meditation and some calmness might be a good thing for me

      Like

  4. I can’t ever clear my mind either. Maybe no one can really do it and they just tell you that they can to drive you crazy. hee hee 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

