My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Goals: Evaluating November and Setting December

on December 1, 2012

Can you believe it is already December?  This year is just flying by!

Back on November 1st, I set some goals for the month.  You can see them here, but basically I wanted to eat a clean breakfast everyday, only go out for lunch once a week at work, and exercise at least 5 times a week. 

Despite having a rough last week, overall, I am pretty happy with my efforts this month and would have to say that I met all my goals.

I think all but maybe 2 or 3 days, I ate a clean breakfast.  I either had some oatmeal, a Clean Eating Hash brown, sausage & egg muffin, or scrambled eggs on a bagel or wrapped for a burrito.  I have to say that having a good breakfast sure helped set the tone for the day.  I was full and didn’t think about food again until lunch time. 

I was perfect in my only going out for lunch once a week.  A couple of days it was challenging, especially when I got lazy with my dinners and didn’t have any leftovers to take for lunch.  Eating lunch at my desk made it easy for me to keep my calorie intake under control and probably saved me a bit of money since I wasn’t spending an extra $10-$20 every day, but it also meant I didn’t get away from my desk much.  Although I ate at my desk, I tried to take a short break from work and check in on Facebook or Twitter, or watch a TV show on my iPad, but quite a few days, I just worked while I ate.  This makes for some longs days. 

On the exercise front, my goal was to workout 5 times a week.  I did well with this one too.  Most weeks I actually exercised 6 times, since on one of my workout days off I played hockey.  This last week of November was a bit challenging and I don’t think I got my 5 workouts in, but if I average all my workouts over the month, those extra Thursday night hockey games get me back where I need to be.

achieve your goals

I had never really set specific goals for the month before, but doing this really made me think about what I was eating and my workouts.  It helped to keep me motivated and on track.  I think it helped that the goals weren’t impossible.  They were achievable without too much effort, which I think helped me stick to them. 

Now, as I look forward to December, I think I should definitely have some goals to keep me on track again.  I think I will keep all of my November goals again, since they are good things to do, but I think I will try to make at least 1 of my workouts a run.

So, these are my December goals:

1.  Eat a clean breakfast every day
2.  Only go out for lunch once a week at work
3.  Exercise at least 5 times a week
4.  Make at least once of those workouts a run

I hope I am as successful with December’s goals as I was with November.  I’m not off to the greatest start, since I didn’t workout today.  I’m getting back on track tomorrow though…I’m meeting my sister at her gym for my first ever spin class.  I’m pretty nervous about it since I’ve heard it’s killer, but I’m also excited to try it out since I’ve heard it’s killer!  I will let you know how I do.

How did you do with your November goals?
What are your December goals?

Leave a Reply

