My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Getting Things Organized

on December 8, 2012

Today was a great day.

It was very relaxing and low key…which was just what I needed.

After a little sleep in, it was off to the rink to watch my little guy’s hockey game.  I absolutely love watching him play.  He loves hockey so much, and it shows every time he steps on the ice. He skates just as hard back to the bench at the end of his shift as he does when he starts the shift.  The kid LOVES hockey.  It was a very close game today.  It was exciting down to the very last second…and they won 5-4!

This afternoon I watched my older guy’s hockey practice.  They skated hard and should be ready for their game tomorrow morning!  I’m looking forward to that one already.

After all the hockey was finished for the day, I dug out my Clean Eating cookbooks and magazines:
clean eating cookbooks …and got down to work for today’s Elf for Health challenge.  Planning my meals and workouts for the week.
menu planning in actionLately, I’ve been pulling most of my meals from the Clean Eating magazines, but today, I dug into the Best of Clean Eating cookbooks.  I found 3 new recipes to try, I’m making one delicious repeat, trying a recipe from pinchofyum.com, and being realistic with Friday.  Here’s how my week of food is going to look:
the planI can’t wait to eat all these awesome meals.  And the best thing…I’m pretty sure every one of these meals is going to makes lots, so there will be enough for leftover lunches all week!  Breakfasts will be a little fly by the seat of my pants and either overnight oats in a jar or an egg, cheese and sriracha breakfast burrito.  Snacks will be go with the flow…I just can’t be that organized!

Part of the challenge is to also plan out our workouts.  I finally signed up for BobHarper.com again, so have access to the circuits, personal training workouts and the group workouts again.  I’m psyched about getting back into these.  They are quick, intense and effective.  Bob gives Sunday and Thursday as rest days.  I’m going to use Sunday as a run day and Thursday is my weekly hockey game, so basically I don’t get a workout day off in the week.  Since I’m planning to do something every day, I’m not going to stress if I miss a workout. 

Hopefully having a workout schedule for the week, I will have a better chance of actually doing them all.  Plus, I will have my Elf for Health buddy to help keep me on track! 

I’m nervous and excited about tomorrow’s workout.  A 3k run.  Sounds easy enough, but I haven’t run a single step since my half marathon back on October 21.  I’m doing the resolution run on New Year’s eve, so need to get myself back up to 5k in the next 3 weeks.  I suppose I should try to squeeze another run into my week somewhere, since I’m pretty sure running once a week isn’t going to be enough to get me ready.  Hopefully I will “remember” how to run when I get back out there!  I know tomorrow I am not going to want to run, but …

run
NO EXCUSES!  It’s only 3k…I’ll let you know how it goes!

So, I’m all planned out. Tomorrow I will shop for all my needed ingredients and I will be good to go.  I’m excited about this upcoming week.  I know what I need to do every day, so that’s one less thing I need to worry about…and that’s awesome, because my life is a zoo, so anything I can do to help make it less chaotic is okay with me!

Do you plan out your menus and workouts for the week?
What’s your upcoming week look like?

Leave a Reply

