My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Looking Ahead

on December 9, 2012

Today was a very productive Sunday for me.

As usual for a weekend day, it started at the arena watching my son play hockey.  Despite losing, the team played a great game, and it was very exciting to watch.  These guys are having a rough season, with few wins, but they still go out every week and give it there all.  Hopefully soon they will be rewarded for the efforts with a win.

After the game, we did some running around, and then it was home and I got changed into my running gear.  Yep, that’s right…I went for a run.  The first one since my half back on Oct 21.  As part of my Elf for Health weekly plan, I scheduled a short 3k for today.  I didn’t really feel much like going, but it was on the schedule, so I just did it!  I even convinced my hubby to come with me!  Here we are just before we headed out.

r&c pre runOur route took us about the neighbourhood, and a short 20 minutes and 50 seconds later…we were done.   I downloaded the Nike+ GPS app on my phone and tried it out on the run.  I like it.  It gives a map of the run, showing your relative speed, and if you turn the screen, it gives you a breakdown of the km’s.  Check it out:
3k nike   

3k breakdwon I didn’t break any land-speed records, not that I ever do!  It wasn’t a bad run, but I didn’t really like it.  It reminded me that I don’t love running.  I do it, but I definitely do not love running the way some other people do.  Hopefully that will get better as I get back into it. 

Tomorrow’s workout will be a BobHarper.com circuit.  I’m looking forward to logging in tomorrow to see what the circuit will be.  I’m sure it will be short, intense, and leave me sweating like a pig!  I can’t wait.

For dinner tonight, I stuck to my meal plan and tried a recipe from pinchofyum.com.  It was a healthy version of Fettuccine Alfredo…instead of loads and loads of heavy cream, this recipe uses cauliflower for the sauce, with just a touch of cream.  It was fantastic.  I changed up the recipe a bit and added some chicken to give it a bit of protein.  I felt like such a chef…at one point I had al 4 burners of the stove going – sautéing the chicken, boiling the cauliflower in stock, sautéing the garlic in some butter, and boiling the water for the pasta. 
cauliflower alfredo The end product was quite tasty and a hit with the kids.  I’ve got enough pasta and chicken left for lunch tomorrow, plus a big tub of “alfredo” sauce that I’ve got in the fridge ready for a quickie dinner one night this week if things get hectic.  Anyone know how long something like this will keep in the fridge?  Can I freeze it? 

Tomorrow is Meatless Monday on my menu plan.  I will be making a veggie frittata.  This is a favourite recipe of my little guy, so I know there will be lots of smiles at the table tomorrow!

And now, the weekend is over, and it’s back to the grind tomorrow. Here’s hoping the week flies by and next weekend will be her before we know it! 

How was your weekend?  Do anything exciting?  Try any new recipes? 

Leave a Reply

