My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Oops, Where’s the Veg?

on December 12, 2012

So last night, right after I signed off from writing my post, I made some crockpot oatmeal. This was the simplest recipe: chop a few apples, and then throw them into a crockpot with some oats, cinnamon, flax, chia seeds, almond milk,

20121212-222338.jpg
give it a stir, turn to low and 8-10 hours later you’ve got a delicious breakfast.

20121212-222432.jpg
This recipe made LOTS. I had breakfast at work today,

20121212-222544.jpg
and probably have another 4 or 5 breakfasts left, waiting in the fridge. And you know how much I love leftovers. They seriously make my day!!!

Lunch was another leftover meal…some of last night’s Buffalo chicken with buttermilk-feta sauce and spicy escarole. It was just as good today as it was last night.

20121212-222840.jpg

Tonight’s dinner was supposed to be Mulligatawny Soup…but that didn’t quite happen. Hubs was out for his work Christmas dinner, so wasn’t going to be here, and my older son wanted the leftover buffalo chicken…so I made the boys buffalo chicken wraps. I was going to have some leftover chicken and sautΓ©ed baby bok choy after doing my Bob Harper workout, but when I finished my workout (today it was yoga!), I wasn’t really hungry.

So, instead of eating a real meal, I had popcorn while I watched Modern Family. Not the best. Especially since today was supposed to be an “eat lots of veggies day” for the Elf for Health challenge. The only veggie I had today was a bit of the spicy escarole with lunch….unless you count popcorn as a vegetable??

As I mentioned, today’s BobHarper.com workout was Yoga. This was the first yoga workout that Bob has done. Just like everything he does, this was some pretty intense yoga. My legs were shaking, my abs were aching, and I was sweating at the end of the 20 minutes. How does that happen…yoga is supposed to be all zen! I’m pretty sure I’m going to be feeling this tomorrow!

20121212-230433.jpg

How many servings of vegetables did you eat today?
Do you end up a sweaty mess when doing yoga?

4 responses to “Oops, Where’s the Veg?

  1. Jill says:

    What is the style of Bob Harper’s yoga? I am a lover of all things “power yoga” or “vinyasa yoga” and there is no relaxing or zen about it. It is all get-the-heart-rate-up, lots-of-sweat yoga.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Hmm… I have no idea what type of yoga it was. he kept saying he just wanted to introduce some poses. There were warrior 1 and 2 poses, downward dogs with a leg lifted way up in the air, and a few other poses. Nothing really too hard, but we seemed to hold them long enough my legs were shaking! it was good. I have a friend who does hot Yoga all the time and loves it. I went with her once and it was good. I really should try to work that into my schedule more often.

      Like

  2. kepotts says:

    Eh, ya win some ya loose some with the veggies πŸ™‚ I ended up getting mine in thanks to a green protein shake in the morning! And, yes, sometimes yoga is super-tough & always a great workout!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Yes, today was definitely not a win with the veg! Oh well…I enjoyed my popcorn! I’ve never had a green smoothie/protein shake before. My sister did a 30 day green smoothie challenge…she said some were good, some were bad! I guess at some point I should try one. Maybe over the Christmas holidays when I’m not so rushed in the morning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

