My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Survived Christmas!

on December 27, 2012

Sorry to have gone MIA for a few days, but Christmas sort of took over my life for a few days!

Here’s what’s been going on in my crazy life.

Sunday:  Neighborhood Potluck.  27 of us gathered to celebrate the season.  We were assigned appetizers as our contribution.  I debated over what to bring.  I wanted something healthy, but tasty.  I had tossed around a few ideas  – roasted veggies or a healthy dip – but in the end I decided on Raspberry Asparagus Endive with Candied Pecans.  I found the recipe at YummyMummyKitchen.com …and it was fantastic!  It looked amazing, was easy to prepare, and was absolutely DELICIOUS!

rasp asp endive
Hubs also made 2 different varieties of baked brie.  One was wrapped in puff pasty and the other was in crescent roll dough with raspberry jam. Both of these were VERY good.  Our apps were a hit at the party and both of these recipes will likely be made again for our New Year’s Eve party.

Monday:  Last minute groceries.  I was hosting Christmas dinner, so had to grab a few last minute items for dinner.  We always get a fresh turkey from Vince’s, so we needed to go pick it up, plus we needed fresh berries for our Christmas Crepe Breakfast.  I also picked up a few needed ingredients for a Cheesy Mexican Quinoa casserole that I was making and taking over to my sister’s for our Christmas Eve dinner.
cheesy mexican quinoa

This was another fantastic recipe find courtesy of The Lean Green Bean.  I have tried a number of her recipes and they are all delicious.  I doubled the recipe since we had a crowd to feed.  I may have gone a bit too heavy on the spices though…it had a bit of a kick that was a bit too much for the little ones, but I loved it.  There was a bit leftover as well, so I’ve got a couple of lunches in the fridge to help give some variety when I need a break from turkey sandwiches!

Tuesday:  CHRISTMAS!!!  We were all quite spoiled again this year, and everyone got some terrific gifts.  Nick’s big present was a very cool Parrot A.R. Drone, and Jacko got a new snowboard and bindings.
presents

Hubby and I tend to not exchange, but this year we got each other something from the kids.  We got him a Sony alarm clock dock for his new iPhone – which I had put through the laundry Monday morning…so it was in a bag of rice drying out and he couldn’t even use his new dock!  OOPS!  He and the boys got me a fantastic gift…

kettlebells
…a full set of kettlebells:  4, 8, 10, 15 and 20lbs.  I LOVE them!

Christmas day was filled with good eats as well. Breakfast was our traditional crepes made by hubs.  I enjoyed mine with Nutella, fresh berries and whipped cream.  Freaking amazing!
crepes

After breakfast and gift opening, we did some prep for dinner and I made the pumpkin pie…I love, and I mean seriously LOVE, pumpkin pie.  I have a recipe from my mom and it is quite honestly the best pumpkin pie EVER.
pumpkin pie

While the pie was cooking my mom and I prepped the bird, got the stuffing ready and once the pie came out…the bird went it.  It was a bit too big for my roasting pan, so we had to cover it with tinfoil.
the bird

After the bird went in, we had some down time, so we read, played with Christmas gifts, and I got in my Elf for Health Challenge when my mom and I took her dogs for a walk around the neighborhood.  We had a good 30 minute walk and Henry (on the left) and Angel (on the right) loved it!
henry and angel

My sister, her hubs, and their kids came over later in the afternoon and the kids opened their presents from us.  It was so fun to see the excitement on my niece’s face.  She is almost 3 and totally “gets” presents.  We had a great afternoon visiting…and then it was time for the main event.  Dinner!  My mom helped me with dinner, and we pulled off a feast:  turkey, mashed potatoes, squash, sautéed asparagus, roasted Brussels sprouts, and stuffing.  There was a ton of food, and there are lots of leftovers!

christmas dinnerAfter all that food, we were all too full to eat dessert…so the pie had to wait until the next day, when we had some for breakfast!

Wednesday:  Boxing Day.  Boxing day we headed down to London to visit with hubby’s parents.  The kids really roughed it on the drive down…watching a movie for most of the trip.
movie boys

We had a nice visit with Nana and Gramps, and after dinner, piled back in the car for the drive back home.  Normally it is about a 2 hour drive, but there was quite a snow storm last night, and the drive took about 4 hours.  it was exhausting and we were quite happy to finally get home and crawl into bed for a good night’s sleep and a sleep in this morning.

Thursday:  RELAX!  Today we had nothing to do, and that’s exactly what we did.  Well, that’s not exactly true…hubs shoveled the drive way after the crazy snowstorm yesterday, and I took my kettlebells for their first workout ride.  I spent a bit of time searching online for different kettlebell workouts.  Women’s Health has a good one that I will try soon, but for my first workout with my new toys, I did this beginner kettlebell workout from FitnessBlender.com.  I really liked the workout.  It was challenging, but doable, and it made me work.  I was dripping by the end of it, and I’m pretty sure I will be feeling the effects of it tomorrow….at least I better be!

Tonight, hubs and I went out on a date.  We went out for dinner and then went to the movies to see This is 40.  They are saying it is the “sort of sequel” to Knocked Up.  The movie was pretty funny, and there were lots of scenes that we could totally relate to.  If you go and see it, be sure to stay for the credits.  We laughed the hardest at the blooper rant that Melissa McCarthy has…it is hilarious!

Not sure what will be in store for tomorrow.  I should probably try to squeeze in a 5k run – which will likely happen on the treadmill, since the sidewalks are a bit of a mess with the snow.  The Resolution Run is just around the corner and I need to get a few more training runs in so I will be ready.

How was your Christmas?  Did you get any great gifts?

Do you have any great kettlebell workouts you can point me to?

2 responses to “I Survived Christmas!

  1. glad you guys liked it!!! sorry about the spices…i usually add a lot because i’m not feeding kiddos 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

