My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

New Year, New Goals

on January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!

New-Year-2013-Celebration-Wallpaper-600x450

To help ensure my 2013 gets off to a healthy start, I am participating in Fitness Cheerleader’s 31 Days to a Healthier You.  The idea behind the challenge is to make one small healthy change every day.  Each day, Janice will email a challenge. 

Today’s challenge was to set some SMART Goals.  Click here to learn just what a SMART goal is. 
smart goal setting concept

I have decide rather than set a bunch of big goals for the whole year, I am going to focus on getting January off to a good start, and hopefully be able to continue on with them throughout the year.

Here are my goals:

1. Lose 5 pounds by March 5th.  This one goes a bit beyond the end of January.  I would be quite happy if I can accomplish this goal by the end of January, but I’ve selected the March 5th date as my absolute deadline as it will mark a year since I began my official Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans.  And losing 5 pounds will make it a total of 20lbs lost in a year.  I’ve been stalled at my current weight for quite a while, gaining and losing the same couple of pounds.  I need to get focused and finally shake those last 5lbs to the curb for good.

2.  Workout or have some sort of physical activity 5 days a week.  This will be a combination of workouts, running, hockey and whatever else I can squeeze in there.  I will use BobHarper.com workouts as a big part of this, as well as the newly discovered FitnessBlender.com workouts.  I’ve got a weekly hockey game and I hope to run a bit as well.  I really need to figure out what I’m going to do running-wise.  I am not a natural runner.  It is hard for me and I don’t really like it, so I’ll need to figure all that out.

3.  Eat only clean snacks for one month.  This one will actually be quite a challenge for me, since it will require that I do a lot of planning and preparation to ensure I’ve got healthy snacks a the ready.  I am heading back to work tomorrow, and I have no idea what I’ve got on hand for healthy snacks. I think I’ve got some almonds and dried cranberries in the cupboard…I sure hope so. 

4.  No diet soda for a month.  This one will be tough.  Not so much at home, since I tend to not have pop in the house regularly.  I just finished my last diet pop of my holiday case of pop tonight while writing this post…and I just won’t buy any, so that will be easy.  The big challenge will be at 3pm at work.  I hit a bit of a wall at that time and enjoy a nice tall glass of diet pop with lots of ice.  I don’t think it’s a caffeine thing, I just like the refreshment of it…the cool bubbles feel good.  I will try to drink club soda with a splash of cranberry juice if I need a “bubble fix” and otherwise I will try just drink water or some tea. 

So, there they are.  Nothing earth shattering, but all will go a long way to improve my overall health and fitness.  Plus, they are all realistic, and if I focus and stay on track, there is no reason why they all can’t be be attained by the end of the month. 

Have you set your goals?  Are they SMART?

One response to “New Year, New Goals

  1. Great goals! I’m confident that clean snacking, no diet soda and being more active will help you achieve your weight goal. Thanks for joining in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

