My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Food Groups and Rainbows

on January 3, 2013

Today’s Elf for Health challenge is to eat at least 3 food groups at every meal.

Breakfast:  Oatmeal with dried cranberries, slivered almonds and a sprinkling of brown sugar.

oatmealNot very exciting, but as usual I was rushing to get out the door and this is what I had at work to eat.  That being said, it covered off grains, fruits, and meats & alternatives.

Lunch:  This meal was much more exciting!  I had some leftover Southwestern Turkey Soup, celery with laughing cow cheese, and some raspberries.  So, not only did I cover off quite a few food groups (meat, vegetables, dairy, fruit), I was also eating the rainbow!
food groups

Dinner:   Dinner didn’t really happen.  I was actually still pretty full from lunch so hubs and I just had some leftover black bean dip and a couple of crackers and cheese. 

Tonight, I’ve got my first hockey game of the New Year.  We’ve had the last 2 weeks off for the holidays, so I’m looking forward to getting back out on the ice…and hopefully burning a few calories!

Did you eat from all the food groups today?
Did you also eat the rainbow?

6 responses to “Food Groups and Rainbows

  1. j! ayson says:

    hmm.. I think I covered all food groups today.
    DIdn’t really eat a rainbow though, definitely something I need to work on.

    Like

  2. That soup looks good. Good luck at your game!

    Like

  3. jsresults says:

    Awesome pic! make me hungry!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

