My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on January 4, 2013

Welcome to the first Friday Five of the New Year!

friday-five2Here’s what’s going on in my world lately.

1.   We are 4 days into the New Year and so far I am doing very well with my goals for January. 

  • I have not had a diet coke – despite really wanting one a couple of times.  I have drank so much water these last 4 days, I think I may overflow!
  • I have not had any unclean snacks – despite being tempted by a counter full of chocolate and other goodies from some Christmas baskets we received at the office before the holidays.
  • I have been rocking the workouts:
    • Sunday:  BobHarper.com Death by Kettlebell workout
    • Monday:  BobHarperLIVE workout and 5k Resolution Run
    • Tuesday:  REST
    • Wednesday:  3k walk around the neighbourhood with hubs
    • Thursday:  Hockey (we lost, but it was a good skate)
    • Friday:  5k run with my sister. 

2.  I’m 4 days in to #31Days. To help get 2013 off on the right foot, I am taking part in a 31 Day Challenge put on by Janice at fitnesscheerleader.com.  After doing a little work on day 1 and 2 of making some goals and then creating a plan to help reach those goals, the last 2 days have been fun challenges.  Yesterday’s was to move for 30 minutes.  I had a hockey game last night which took care of that (we lost, but it was still good exercise).  Today’s challenge is to go to bed early.  I can’t tell you how excited I am to complete this challenge.  I never get enough sleep…ever!  So, I am going to finish this post, put my jammies on, read for a bit, and GO TO SLEEP! 

sleep well

3.  I treated myself to a new toy!  I have been doing circuit workouts for a few months now.  I feel like I am working hard and I’m a sweaty mess at the end of the workouts, so pretty sure I am, but not exactly sure how many calories I am burning.  When I run, I have a fairly good estimate of my calorie burn from my Garmin or from MyFitnessPal that has many cardio workouts in the database.  I wanted something to help me with my calorie burn during workouts.  I have been seeing lots of people posting pictures of their workouts on heart rate monitors and how it has helped them with their progress…so…look what I got:
HRMI just ordered it yesterday, but paid for express shipping and it was on the doorstep when I got home from work this afternoon!  I was super pumped to try it out and it just so happens I was going for a run with my sister after work…so I took it out for a spin.  I’m not sure what I did, but the heart rate part of it didn’t kick in for the first 5 minutes or so?  The time kept running, but the heart rate didn’t register.  I’m pretty sure that the calorie burn isn’t quite accurate or the % in the fat burn zone..since the times don’t add up. 
HRM first runHopefully I figure out what I did wrong that it didn’t register right away….but I still think it’s pretty darn cool!  I can’t wait to use it for a circuit or kettlebell workout….which I hope to do this weekend!

4.  I am so glad that this was a short week at work.  Since my office was closed Monday and Tuesday for the Christmas/New Year’s holidays, I only had a 3 day work week.  Thank God!  It was hard getting up early again, even though we got up about a hour and a half later then we do when the kids are in school.  Getting up at the usual 6:30 or so next week is going to BLOW….HUGE! 

5.  This is the kettlebell workout I want to try this weekend. I recently discovered a great workout website  – www.fitnessblender.com  I found them  when I searched Google for beginner kettlebell workouts.  I really enjoyed the first workout I did, and found another one that I want to try.  Hopefully I squeeze it in some time this weekend.  I can’t seem to get the video to load in here…so you will just have to click here to see it. 

Once again, it is now late….but not as late as I usually go to bed…so I can still accomplish today’s #31Days challenge. 

How was your Friday?
Are you still on track with your resolutions or goals?

Have a good weekend!!!

5 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. jsresults says:

    Everyone is getting these watches!! I’m jealous

    Like

Leave a Reply

