My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Looking Ahead to a Great Week

on January 6, 2013

Today was a lazy day, but I still got quite a bit accomplished!

The day started fairly early at the rink watching my son’s hockey game.  They played well, but in the end, lost 3-2. 

After the hockey game, I came home and treated myself to a little nap.  I was just so tired, and really didn’t have too much to do today, so just crawled back under the covers for an hour or so.  I woke up feeling a bit more rested.  I really need to do a better job of going to bed earlier.   I’m tired of being tired!

This afternoon I put all the Christmas decorations away and got the tree out of the house.  The thing shed like crazy and there were needles all over the place.  I was kind of surprised it didn’t just crumble to bits and pieces when I moved it.  Apparently we weren’t the best with watering it! 

After finishing up with the Christmas stuff, I flipped through my Zinio editions of Clean Eating magazine, and got to work on my meal planning for the week.  I’m not sure why, but I chose the Comfort Foods edition as my starting place, and didn’t get past that edition!  I found 3 fantastic recipes to include on this week’s menu:

    1. Mexican Lasagne
    2. Chicken & Zucchini Alfredo
    3. Hearty Sausage & Cheese Frittata

I also have a crock pot recipe from skinytaste.com that will be part of the menu:  Crock Pot Sante Fe Chicken. 

I’m looking forward to eating well this week…and of course, cooking clean will result in lots of leftovers, which means I will be eating well at lunch-time this week too!

Along with my meals, I also planned my workouts for the week.  I’ve got a combination of BobHarper.com workouts and FitnessBlender.com workouts scheduled, as well as my weekly hockey game.  

In the end…this is how my week ahead looks. (today was actual food and workouts..the rest is the plan)
plan jan 6-12

Tonight, after doing groceries and getting the kids started with showers and on their way to bed, hubs and I went for another walk around the neighbourhood.  It was a nice night and I covered another 3.22km.  Hubs back was bugging him, so he bailed around 2k and I did the last bit on my own.  Unfortunately my phone died before I made it all the way back home, but I know the total distance since it’s the exact same route I did last time. 
jan 6 walk It was a good walk, and each km was faster than the one before. 
jan 6 walk breakdown Seems like I really picked up the pace once hubby bailed on me!  I’m enjoying these walks, so hopefully I can keep them as part of my regular fitness routine.

Now, it is WAY later than I had intended to be finishing this post.  But…I got side tracked watching the season premiere of The Biggest Loser.  I’m looking forward to following the contestants as they go through their weight loss journeys.  I’m loving that Bob and Jillian are back…I actually never watched the seasons that they weren’t on.  I forgot how much people cry on this show…although I’m pretty sure Jillian would make me cry too!  MyTrainerBob is awesome….I love his website and workouts, so I’m looking forward to seeing how he motivates his team. 

I hope you all had a great weekend.

Have you got your meals and workouts planned for the week ahead?
Did you watch The Biggest Loser?  What did you think of the season premiere?

8 responses to “Looking Ahead to a Great Week

  1. runninghaiku says:

    I love The Biggest Loser but I always end up eating junk food when I watch it.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      normally i eat crap while i watch it too…but i’m sticking to my goal of no unhealthy snacks for january, so just had a bit of popcorn, which I say is fine!

      Like

  2. So organized :)! You’ve motivated me to REALLY get organized and meal plan! Just printed a calendar and am on it! Time to do it 🙂 I saw that the Biggest Loser was on last night but didn’t realize Jillian was back on. Love her….I’ll have to check it out, I’ve actually never watched that show….have a great week 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I find having the plan really makes my life easier. I pick my food, build my grocery list and shop. It also makes the end of the work day less stressful as well, since I know exactly what I’m making each night. Most of these recipes give leftovers, which makes lunch the next day easy! For me, breakfast is the biggest challenge…I’ve already had a set back this morning since I forgot to make my overnight oats before I went to bed! Hopefully I remember to make them tonight…I should make an Outlook appointment, so it will go off tonight and remind me to do it!
      Good luck…let me know how it goes.

      Like

  3. jsresults says:

    I’m going to watch it tonight! 🙂

    Like

  4. sirak98 says:

    We had scouts tonight so things ran late. My daughter and I are trying to do a little Dance routine with the Wii every night- but I think that Loser will become our show to watch this season. In is inspirational and hopefully give us a little bit of motivation.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      It’s amazing how hard they work and how much weight they lose each week. The hardest part for me will be to not each junk food when I watch – which I have been known to do in the past 🙂 I had an apple while watching tonight, so so far, so good! Nightly Wii dance sounds like so much fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

