My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Weights and Skates

on January 6, 2013

Today’s #31Days challenge was to do a strength workout. This was perfect, since I had already planned to do a kettlebell workout video from Fitness Blender.

After getting up early to go watch my youngest play hockey, I came home, changed, grabbed my iPad, selected my video and got to work. This video was awesome! There was a good warm up and then 18 different kettlebell moves and a cool down. Kettlebell exercises included swings (both 2 hand and single arm), racks, squats with press, halos, lunges, deadlifts, get ups, curls, tricep extensions, and a bunch of ab exercises. I had never done many of these moves, but they were well explained in the video and they gave good info about how heavy your kettlebell should be for each exercise. I actually got to use every kettlebell I have today, so I was pumped about that!

I wore my heart rate monitor during today’s workout. I almost forgot, but remembered at the last minute and put it on. It seemed to pick up my heart rate right away this time, but there were a few times during the workout when it seemed to lose the connection, so my calorie burn was likely a bit higher than what this shows, but I’m still pretty happy with the workout…especially the % calories fat burned.

20130106-002001.jpg

Tonight, I played pick up hockey with a bunch of friends. It was a ton of fun, and I got to play with my hubby, which I have never done before. I had a great time until some jackass on the other team slewfooted me in the corner! Well…It wasn’t actually a jackass, it was my friend Toni’s hubby, Todd, who was playing defense on the other team. It was actually quite funny, and we had a laugh over it both on the ice and while we had a couple of beers at the bar after the game. πŸ™‚

I should have worn my heat rate monitor during the game to see how many calories I burned. However many it was, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t enough to cover the 2 Corona and the nachos that I had at the bar! Oh well….I’m not going to worry about it. We had a great skate, got some exercise, and had a nice visit with friends after the game. It was a great way to spend a Saturday night.

Now, once again, it is super late and I need to go to bed. I’ve got to get up early and go watch my oldest play his hockey game tomorrow morning. I can’t wait! I love watching my guys play hockey!

How was your Saturday? Did you get your workouts in?
Are you planning revenge against your friend’s hubby too? LOL…just kidding Todd…or am I? πŸ™‚

2 responses to “Weights and Skates

  1. jsresults says:

    I had a great arms workout yesterday! Great pump and nice sweat πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

